Andhra lost three early wickets, but steadied to reach 99 for 3 in their chase of 233 at stumps against Goa in Dhanbad.

Goa had overturned their 34-run deficit early in the day, but found themselves 60 for 3 in the 16th over. An 88-run stand between Snehal Kauthankar (65) and Darshan Misal (32) steadied Goa's innings, before Kauthankar's wicket brought three more in a short span as Goa fell from 148 for 3 to 156 for 7. This was before allrounder Saurabh Bandekar and medium-pacer Rituraj Singh (33) counter-attacked with an eighth-wicket stand of 71 that came off just 9.4 overs. Bandekar then dominated a 49-run stand for the ninth wicket that took 9.1 overs, before eventually falling for 75 to the part-time offspin of Andhra captain Hanuma Vihari (3-17). Goa folded for 276.

Andhra lost three wickets for 36, before they put on a counter-attack of their own through an unbroken 63-run stand for the fourth wicket between DB Ravi Teja (35 off 46) and Ricky Bhui (32 off 44).

Tripura captain Manisankar Murasingh and part-time medium-pacer Sanjay Majumder took four wickets each as Kerala folded for 193 to concede the first-innings lead in Cuttack.

Kerala lost Bhavin Thakkar and Rohan Prem in the first two overs of the day. Mohammed Azharuddeen (41) and Jalaj Saxena (18) put on 50 for the third wicket, and Salman Nizar (25) put on 54 for the fifth with Sachin Baby (29), but the rest of the partnerships barely contributed and Kerala were soon reduced to 131 for 6. Murasingh, who had batted with his last three batsmen to add 89 on the first day, took Kerala's last three wickets to secure a 20-run lead for Tripura. Tripura then reached 17 for no loss at stumps.

Haryana made an improvement to their overnight run rate of 2.66 as they added 165 in 43 overs on day two, to finish with 402 in their first innings in Valsad. They then took three Himachal Pradesh wickets before stumps.

Overnight batsman Guntashveer Singh's maiden-century knock was cut short early in the day, when he was dismissed by Rishi Dhawan (3-138) for 120. Contributions from Rohit Sharma (50) and opener Shubham Rohilla (64) - who had retired hurt the previous day - added to useful knocks from the lower order to take Haryana past 400. Medium-pacer Kanwar Abhinay finished with career-best figures of 6 for 84.

Himachal Pradesh lost 3 for 54 after an opening stand of 41, as they went into stumps on 101 for 3. Robin Bist (12*) and Sumeet Varma (3*) were at the crease.

The second day at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai started poorly for Chhattisgarh, who lost Abhimanyu Chauhan for a duck before they had added to their overnight score of 8 for 0. But half-centuries from Manoj Singh (67) and Amandeep Khare (51) took them to 281, and a 56-run first-innings lead over Services.

But it wasn't straightforward. Right-arm fast bowler Diwesh Pathania struck regularly, causing Chhattisgarh to slip to 199 for 8, still 26 adrift of Services' total. A 66-run ninth-wicket partnership between Manoj and Kant Singh took Chhattisgarh well into the lead. Pathania finished with 6 for 78.

After limiting Hyderabad to 328, Jammu & Kashmir slumped to 156 for 7 by stumps on day two in Vadodara.

Resuming on 234 for 3, Hyderabad lost both overnight batsmen, including centurion Tanmay Agarwal, for the addition of just 30 runs to the score. Kolla Sumanth and Mehdi Hasan then departed for ducks to leave Hyderabad at 266 for 7. The tail added some handy runs, though, to take Hyderabad past 300. Jammu & Kashmir captain Parvez Rasool finished with 4 for 63.

But Jammu & Kashmir quickly slipped to 31 for 4. They closed on 156 for 7, with Ravi Kiran taking 4 for 31 to deliver a telling blow to their chances of taking a first-innings lead.