The fast bowler Brendan Drew and the batsman Nick Kruger are among eight players who will be axed from Tasmania's contract list for next summer. A fortnight ago, Drew and Kruger were playing in the Sheffield Shield final but neither man did enough to encourage the selectors to retain them on the contract list.
The wicketkeeper Brady Jones, the opening batsman Jon Wells, the seamer Ben Laughlin, the batsman Ashton May, the allrounder Matthew Day and the rookie spinner Marc Simonds will also be delisted.
"While we are hopeful that some of these players remain in Hobart to chase their dream of playing cricket at the highest level, Cricket Tasmania wishes those who do not all the best with their cricket futures," Tasmania's chairman of selectors, Michael Farrell, said.
The axing of state players is expected to be significant across most states this year with Cricket Australia keen to reduce the number of players offered central deals. That will create a knock-on effect with many players who were on national contracts needing to be squeezed into state lists.
While 32 players held CA contracts by the end of the summer, including seven who were upgraded due to playing enough matches for Australia, that number could be slashed to as few as 15 when the new list is revealed. Tasmania are expected to have to find room on their state list to accommodate Tim Paine and Jason Krejza, both of whom hold CA contracts that are unlikely to be renewed.