At Sydney, January 23 (day/night). Australia won by 69 runs. Toss: Australia.

Australia squared the finals with a convincing victory. The match was all but settled by a rapid third-wicket stand of 175 between Jones and Mark Waugh, who stoked an elegant century, hitting eight fours in 111 balls. Donald took four wickets, including both openers, but Snell - the bowling hero of the previous match - conceded 59 from his ten overs.

When South Africa batted, a run-out ended another half-century opening stand between the Kirstens and later resistance was patchy. Rhodes top-scored with 52 from 59 balls, sweeping Warne for a defiant six. But Warne claimed Cullinan, Cronje - a stumping for Healy in his 100th one-day international - and McMillan, who, not for the first time, made a hash of the flipper. Three wickets in eight balls from McDermott, who also helped to run out Symcox, saw South Africa bowled out with 4.1 overs remaining.

Attendance: 39,808.