Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard have been left out of the West Indies side for the five-match series against South Africa. All three, including Bravo - who was replaced as ODI captain by Jason Holder - retain their places in the T20 squad. Sammy remains the T20 captain.

Offspinner Sunil Narine, who was withdrawn from the India series after being banned during the Champions League T20 due to a suspect action, does not feature in either squad.

Jonathan Carter received a maiden overseas tour call-up for the ODIs, while batsman Narsingh Deonarine was picked following good performances recently, including two successive first-class hundreds for Guyana in the Professional Cricket League.

The ODI side has only one specialist spinner in Sulieman Benn, with Jerome Taylor, Sheldon Cottrell and Holder leading the pace attack. Kemar Roach had earlier been identified for selection but following his injury in the Centurion Test, the West Indies selectors have decided to name a replacement for him at a later date.

Offspinner Ashley Nurse, who last played an international game in June 2011, was selected for the T20s . Krishmar Santokie and legspinner Samuel Badree were ruled out due to injuries while Chris Gayle's availability for the limited-overs games is subject to a fitness test. The three-match T20 series starts on January 9.