At Sharjah, April 15. India won by 28 runs. Toss: India. International debut: V. Rathore.

India passed 300 for the first time in one-day cricket to set up a satisfying win. It was rooted in a 231-run stand between Tendulkar and Sidhu, an Indian all-wicket record in limited-overs internationals. With Waqar Younis's line much improved and newcomer Rathore falling for two, India started slowly. Tendulkar was intent on building an innings after scoring just three in India's two defeats. The tempo rose as he put on a classical display, Sidhu punished the slow bowlers and both reached three figures. After they went, a frenzied assault plundered 60 in five overs: Azharuddin hit 24 off the last, from Ata-ur-Rehman. Pakistan had two overs deducted for their slow over-rate, but replied with spirit. They were 172 for two in the 26th over when Aamir Sohail, on 78 from 76 balls, was furious to be run out - by his runner, Rashid Latif. Earlier, Latif had hit fifty from 31 balls. But Sohail's dismissal, followed up by accurate bowling from Kumble, gave the upper hand to India again.

Man of the Match: S. R. Tendulkar.