Matches (12)
T20I Tri-Series (1)
IPL (1)
USA vs BAN (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
Stats Analysis

125 in 6 overs: Head and Sunrisers shatter T20 powerplay records

All the stats from Sunrisers' 67-run win over Capitals in Delhi

Travis Head's fifty came off just 16 balls , Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2024, Delhi, April 20, 2024

Travis Head's fifty came off just 16 balls  •  Associated Press

125 for 0 Sunrisers Hyderabad's total at the end of the sixth over is now the highest in the powerplay in men's T20 cricket (where ball-by-ball data is available). They broke the record held by Nottinghamshire with 106 for 0 against Durham in 2017 at Trent Bridge. The previous highest in the IPL was 105 for 0 by Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bengaluru in 2017.
4.6 Overs needed for Sunrisers to reach the 100-run mark. It is the fastest team 100 in the history of men's T20s, where ball-by-ball data is available. The previous fastest was 5.3 overs by South Africa against West Indies in Centurion in 2023. The previous quickest team 100 in the IPL was off 5.6 overs by Knight Riders against Royal Challengers in 2017 and by Chennai Super Kings against Kings XI Punjab in 2014.
84 Travis Head's score in the powerplay is now the second-highest for anyone in this phase in a men's T20 innings (where ball-by-ball data is available). The highest is 87 runs by Suresh Raina in the 2014 qualifier game against Kings XI.
16 Balls needed for Head to bring up his fifty is now the joint-fastest for Sunrisers in the IPL. He equalled the record set by Abhishek Sharma against Mumbai Indians earlier this season.
24 Boundaries hit by Sunrisers in the powerplay are the most by any team in men's T20s (where ball-by-ball data is available). They surpassed the 20 boundaries hit by the Sri Lankans against Sussex in 2014. Sunrisers' 11 maximums in the first six overs are the joint-most for any team.
20.68 Run-rate of the partnership between Head and Abhishek is by far the highest of the 283 century stands in the IPL. The previous highest was 17.02 between Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine against RCB in 2017 when they added 105 off 6.1 overs for the first wicket.
It is also the second-highest run-rate for any century stand in men's T20s, behind 21.31 by Shamarh Brooks and Imad Wasim, who added 103* in 4.5 overs for the fifth wicket in CPL 2022.
8.4 Overs Sunrisers needed to reach the 150-run mark, which is the fewest by any team in men's T20s (where ball-by-ball data is available). The previous fastest was off 9.2 overs by Worcestershire against Northamptonshire in 2018 and against Durham in 2019.
158 for 4 Sunrisers' total at the halfway stage is the highest by any team in the IPL at the end of the tenth over, bettering their 148 for two against Mumbai Indians earlier this season. It is also the joint-second highest score in men's T20s where data is available, behind Worcestershire's 162 for 0 against Northamptonshire in 2018.
22 Sixes hit by Sunrisers in Delhi are the joint-most by any team in an innings in the IPL, equaling their record set in the previous match against RCB in Bengaluru.
3 Number of 250-plus totals by Sunrisers in the IPL, going one ahead of Royal Challengers. Sunrisers are only the second team after Surrey with three 250-plus totals in men's T20 cricket.
2 Delhi Capitals became the first team to concede 250-plus totals twice in the IPL. Middlesex, Sri Lanka and West Indies are the other teams to have conceded 250-plus totals twice in men's T20s.
15 Balls needed for Jake Fraser-McGurk to complete his fifty. It is now the joint-fourth fastest fifty ever scored in the IPL and the quickest for Capitals, bettering Chris Morris' 17-ball effort against Gujarat Lions in 2016.
213 Runs aggregated by Sunrisers and Capitals in the powerplay on Saturday are by far the most in any men's T20 (where ball-by-ball data is available). The previous was 174 runs by Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire in 2017, while the previous highest in IPL was 170 by Super Kings and Kings XI in 2014. The 88 by the Capitals in the chase is their highest powerplay total in the IPL.
55 Runs conceded by Kuldeep Yadav in his four overs are the most by any bowler while picking up four or more wickets in a men's T20. The previous most were 54 runs by Karanveer Singh in 2024 and Aftab Alam in 2017.

Sampath Bandarupalli is a statistician at ESPNcricinfo