Simon Katich's dream campaign has resulted in major recognition at the domestic awards in Sydney © Getty Images

The prolific season of Simon Katich, who will lead New South Wales in the final on Saturday, has resulted in him winning the Pura Cup Player of the Year award at the SCG. Katich has picked up 1328 runs in the competition at the incredible average of 94.85 and needs 137 in the decider against Victoria to steal the overall record from Michael Bevan.

He finished six votes ahead of Queensland's Ashley Noffke for the domestic prize while Doug Bollinger was third and David Hussey fourth. In ten games Katich hit five hundreds and six half-centuries with a top score of 306 in the match against Queensland. Katich was also named captain of the Australian Cricketers' Association All-star Pura Cup outfit with Dan Marsh as his deputy, and the players switched spots for the ACA's FR Cup squad.

Katich said it was pleasing to be recognised by the ACA but his major focus remained leading New South Wales in the Pura Cup final against Victoria, which begins on Saturday. "It's a huge honour, I was thrilled to win it," Katich said. "But the main thing for me is for us to win the final so as much as it's nice to win that award for me the biggest thrill of the season will be hopefully winning the Pura Cup."

Matthew Elliott, who has retired, was crowned the FR Cup Player of the Year for the second time in a row after he signed off with 521 runs at 74.42. Hussey captured the Twenty20 prize with 237 at a strike-rate of 153.89 while the New South Wales rookie Steven Smith was second. Lisa Sthalekar was handed the prize for the WNCL, Steve Davis picked up the Cricket Australia Umpire Award and Western Australia collected the Benaud Spirit of Cricket for the four-day and one-day competitions.

Pura Cup Player of the Year Simon Katich
FR Cup Player of the Year Matthew Elliott
Twenty20 Player of the Year David Hussey
WNCL Player of the Year Lisa Sthalekar
Cricket Australia Umpire Award Steve Davis
Benaud Spirit of Cricket Awards Western Australia (Pura Cup & FR Cup)

Australian Cricketers' Association All-star Pura Cup Michael Di Venuto (Tas), Chris Rogers (WA), Brad Hodge (Vic), Simon Katich (capt, NSW), David Hussey (Vic), Dan Marsh, (vc, Tas), Graham Manou (wk, SA), Ashley Noffke (Qld), Doug Bollinger (NSW), Steve Magoffin (WA), Bryce McGain (Vic), Ryan Harris (12th man, SA).

Australian Cricketers' Association All-star FR Cup Michael Dighton (Tas), Matthew Elliott (SA), Brad Hodge (Vic), David Hussey (Vic), Simon Katich (vc, NSW), Dan Marsh (capt, Tas), Brad Haddin (wk, NSW), Brett Geeves (Tas), Brendan Drew (Tas), Steve Magoffin (WA), Shaun Tait (SA), Daniel Cullen (12th man, SA).