New South Wales have named a largely unchanged squad for 2009-10 with the departure of the opener Ed Cowan and the addition of the allrounder Shane Watson the only major alterations. Cowan has moved to Tasmania to increase his opportunities while Watson has relocated from Queensland.
The left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc, who made his Sheffield Shield debut late last season, has ousted his fellow fast man Scott Coyte from the state squad. The other new faces are the batting allrounder Phillip Wells and the left-arm orthodox spinner Luke Doran, who have both been handed rookie deals.
Josh Hazlewood, the promising fast bowler, will be available more often having now finished his schooling and moved to Sydney from the Tamworth region. With ten New South Wales players receiving Cricket Australia contracts for the next year, the Blues were able to name a group with impressive depth as they aim for quick improvement having finished last in the Sheffield Shield last summer.
"There is no doubt that this season will again offer enormous opportunity to the younger players," the Cricket New South Wales chief executive David Gilbert said. "I am sure that they will build on their experience from last season and help us challenge in all three domestic competitions."
New South Wales squad Aaron Bird, Doug Bollinger (Cricket Australia contract), Nathan Bracken (CA), Mark Cameron, Beau Casson, Stuart Clark (CA), Michael Clarke (CA), Burt Cockley, Peter Forrest, Brad Haddin (CA), Nathan Hauritz (CA), Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Phillip Hughes (CA), Phil Jaques, Simon Katich (CA), Usman Khawaja, Grant Lambert, Brett Lee (CA), Greg Mail, Peter Nevill, Stephen O'Keefe, Ben Rohrer, Daniel Smith, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Dominic Thornely, David Warner, Shane Watson (CA).
Rookies Daniel Burns, James Crosthwaite, Luke Doran, Scott Henry, Simon Keen, Joshua Lalor, Phillip Wells.