Matches (12)
T20 World Cup (4)
IND v SA [W] (1)
WI Academy in IRE (1)
T20 Blast (6)
Stats Analysis

Glenn Phillips shades Colin Munro's record for fastest T20I ton by a New Zealander

All the records Glenn Phillips and New Zealand broke on Sunday

Shiva Jayaraman
Glenn Phillips roars after bringing up his hundred, New Zealand vs West Indies, 2nd T20I, Mount Maunganui, November 29, 2020

Getty Images

46 - The number of deliveries Glenn Phillips took to hit his first T20 international hundred. It's the quickest for New Zealand in the format. Colin Munro's century off 47 balls against the same opposition and incidentally at the same venue in 2018 was the previous best. Click here for the fastest hundreds in T20Is.
171* - New Zealand's previous-highest partnership in T20I. Back then, Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson achieved this feat for the opening wicket against Pakistan in 2016. The 184-run stand between Devon Conway and Phillips is now the highest.
182 - The most runs added by a non-opening pair in T20Is before this match was by Dawid Malan and Eoin Morgan for the third wicket against New Zealand in 2019. Phillips and Conway hold that record. Click here for a list of the highest non-opening partnerships in T20Is.
154 - Runs scored by New Zealand in the last 10 overs - the third highest ever by a team in T20Is. The highest of 159 was scored by Sri Lanka against Kenya in the first World T20 in 2007. Afghanistan had made 156 runs in the last ten against Ireland in a T20I in Dehradun last year, which is the second-highest.
2 - New Zealand have made two totals higher than their 238 in the second T20I against West Indies. Their best of 243 for 5 was also against the same opposition at the same venue in January 2018. They had equaled that score in another T20I against Australia the next month. Click here for the highest totals by New Zealand in T20Is.
0 - Among the top teams, no one has made more than Phillips' 108 while coming in to bat in T20Is after the powerplays. The previous highest was David Miller's 101 against Bangladesh. Miller had come in to bat in the 10th over in that game. Phillips came to the crease in the 7th over in this match at the fall of Guptill's wicket. Overall, Belgium's Shaheryar Butt holds that record for his unbeaten 50-ball 125 after walking in to bat in the eighth over in a T20I against Czech Republic.

Shiva Jayaraman is a senior stats analyst at ESPNcricinfo @shiva_cricinfo