Pakistan recall Nawaz, Ameen for Women's T20 Asia Cup

The 15-member squad also includes uncapped allrounder Sadaf Shamas

Sidra Ameen celebrates her century, Pakistan Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 2nd ODI, Karachi, June 3, 2022

Sidra Ameen has been in terrific form of late  •  Pakistan Cricket Board

Opener Sidra Ameen and wicketkeeper-batter Sidra Nawaz have been recalled into the Pakistan side for the Women's T20 Asia Cup, which will be staged in Sylhet next month. The 15-member squad also includes uncapped allrounder Sadaf Shamas.
Pakistan have made three changes to the side that turned out for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham last month with Anam Amin, Gull Feroza and Iram Javed missing out. Bismah Maroof continues to captain the side which also has Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Umme Hani and Waheeda Akhtar as standby players.
Ameen last played a T20I in 2019 but has shown impressive 50-over form this year. She was named Player of the Series in Pakistan's 2-1 win over Sri Lanka in June with scores of 76, 123 and 19 in the three ODIs. She had also scored a century against Bangladesh at the Women's World Cup in Hamilton earlier this year. Ameen was rewarded with a central contract for her stellar showing this year.
"Sidra Ameen has been in good form of late. She did well in the practice matches and became only the second Pakistan women batter to score two ODI centuries recently. Her presence at the top of the order will instil stability," Asmavia Iqbal, the national women's selector, said.
Nawaz, on the other hand, comes in as backup for frontline wicketkeeper-batter Muneeba Ali. The 28-year-old has not played a single T20I this year but has been in the ODI scheme of things for Pakistan.
"We have also selected an additional keeper in Sidra Nawaz because of the long duration of the tournament. On these tracks, we need a specialist wicketkeeper as a backup for Muneeba Ali, in case she becomes unavailable," Iqbal said.
"Sadaf Shamas did extraordinary well in the recent practice matches and we feel this was the right time to elevate her to the national side."
The release also stated that PCB will start the search for a new head coach after David Hemp decided to not extend his two-year contract in October.
The rest of the side remains on a consistent line. The 15-player side and the reserves will take part in a ten-day camp in Lahore from September 18 to 27 before the squad departs for the tournament on September 28.
The Women's T20 Asia Cup will run from October 1 to 16, with seven teams competing in the T20 tournament. The first phase of the tournament will be played in a round robin style with four teams qualifying for the semi-finals. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, and UAE are slated to take part in the tournament alongside hosts Bangladesh.
The Asia Cup was last held in 2018 with Bangladesh clinching the title in a last-ball thriller. India are the most successful team at the tournament having won the trophy six times.
Pakistan squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hasan
Reserve Players: Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Umme Hani, Waheeda Akhtar