SL pick teenager Dilhari for ODIs; Atapattu returns as captain

Atapattu will take over the captaincy from Inoka Ranaweera for the upcoming home ODIs against Pakistan

Madushka Balasuriya
Chamari Atapattu hit six sixes in her unbeaten 178, Australia v Sri Lanka, Women's World Cup, Bristol, June 29, 2017

Chamari Atapattu hit six sixes in her unbeaten 178  •  Getty Images/ICC

Chamari Atapattu, fresh from her excursion in the Women's Big Bash League in Australia, will take over the captaincy from Inoka Ranaweera for Sri Lanka in the upcoming home series against Pakistan. Nipuni Hansika was named vice-captain.
All eyes will be on 17-year old Kavisha Dilhari, who was discovered through an island-wide talent hunt. Dilhari was recently described by Sri Lanka's high performance manager Simon Willis - who was a part of the talent search team - as a "very competitive beast," having been playing cricket domestically since she was 15 years of age.
"She came to some trials I was at and showed great potential. She showed great maturity for someone her age. Even in match situations she's a very competitive beast," he told ESPNcricinfo.
"Hence, why we've given her the opportunity here. We believe she's someone we need to back and give the experience and play alongside fantastic players like her captain. And learn from her."
Dilhari is among four changes to the squad from the one that toured the West Indies late last year, with Chamari Polgampola, Sugandika Kumari and Inoshi Fernando the other additions. Making way are Chandima Gunaratne, Hansima Karunaratne, Yashoda Mendis, and Udeshika Prabodhani.
Sri Lanka will play three ODIs and three T20Is. All three ODIs will take place in Dambulla on March 20, 22, and 24, and will count for the ICC Women's Championship. The T20 series will shift the action to Colombo with the first match taking place at the SSC on the 28th, the second at the NCC on 30th, and the final game back at the SSC on the 31st.
Sri Lanka and Pakistan have played three matches each in the current cycle of the ICC Women's Championship. Sri Lanka are placed at the bottom - the only team without a win yet - while Pakistan are sixth with one win to their name.
Sri Lanka ODI squad: Chamari Atapattu (captain), Prasadani Weerakkody, Dilani Manodara, Nipuni Hansika, Hasini Perera, Rebecca Vandort, Chamari Polgampola, Shashikala Siriwardena, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasooriya, Sripali Weerakkody, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Inoshi Fernando, Kavishka Dilhani