Kumar Sangakkara has been named captain of the ICC's team of the 2011 World Cup that is dominated by players from India and Sri Lanka, with seven spots going to the finalists.

The side, selected with subcontinent conditions in mind and on the basis of performances in the tournament, was chosen by the same jury of officials and media persons who named Yuvraj Singh as Player of the Tournament.

The tournament's top two run-scorers, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Sachin Tendulkar were named the team's openers, while Zaheer Khan, the joint top wicket-taker, and Dale Steyn (who finished with one of the best averages - 12 wickets at 16.00 apiece) form the new-ball attack. The main spinner's role was given to Muttiah Muralitharan, while Shane Watson and Shahid Afridi, also the joint-top wicket-taker, joined Yuvraj as the team's allrounders. Mahela Jayawardene and AB de Villiers complete the middle order. The tournament's second-highest wicket-taker, Tim Southee, was named 12th man.

Other players whose names came up for discussion while choosing the 12 included Ross Taylor, Jacob Oram, Jonathan Trott, Graeme Swann, Kevin O'Brien, Kemar Roach, Kieron Pollard, Imran Tahir, Ryan ten Doeschate, Upul Tharanga and Lasith Malinga.