June 8, 2001

2001-2002 Bulls squad announced

The XXXX Queensland Bulls have re-signed their Pura Cup championship team for the 2001-2002 cricket season.

Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Officer Graham Dixon today announced that 18 players nominated by the State selectors had accepted Queensland State Player Contracts, including the Bulls team that won consecutive Pura Cup championships with their win over Victoria at the Gabba in March.

The Bulls will have a squad of 22 for the 2001-2002 season, comprising 18 players on State contracts and four players on ACB contracts.

Queensland has also secured three players on rookie contracts, which were introduced during the off-season as part of the Memorandum of Understanding between the Australian Cricket Board and Australian Cricketers' Association.

Queensland's ACB contracted players are Matthew Hayden, Andrew Symonds, Martin Love and Ashley Noffke.

Australian Under-19 duo Mitchell Johnson and Chris Hartley have signed Bulls contracts while 18-year-old University batsman Craig Philipson, Norths opener Duncan Betts, a current Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy scholar, and Redlands Tigers pace bowler Damien Mackenzie have agreed to rookie contracts.

Philipson, Betts and Mackenzie are all products of the Australia Post Emerging Players scheme and have represented Queensland at Under-17 and Under-19 level as well playing for the Queensland Academy of Sport team in the ACB Cup 2nd XI competition.

Johnson, a left-arm pace bowler who missed much of last season while recovering from a back stress fracture, and Hartley, a wicket-keeper, are regarded as two of the brightest talents to emerge from Queensland in recent seasons.

Hartley was a graduate of the CBCA last season while Johnson is in his second year at the Academy. Both players have represented the Australian Under-19 in Youth Internationals in the past two seasons.

Missing from last year's squad are allrounders Scott Prestwidge and Geoff Foley, who announced their retirement at the end of the season, Peter Burge Medal winner Dale Turner, who has returned to Sydney, and pace bowlers Matthew Pascoe and Brendan Creevey.

Contracted players not involved with the Ashes tour or playing overseas have commenced off-season conditioning training. The Bulls have 13 players either touring with the Australian team or playing in the United Kingdom at present.

All States had to register their initial list of contracted players by today, with the complete player list for each State to be finalised prior to the season.

Dixon said Queensland had now completed its player recruitment for the coming season and was unlikely to participate in the national player draft later this month.

XXXX Queensland Bulls squad 2001-2002

ACB & Bulls contracts: Matthew Anderson, Andy Bichel, Lee Carseldine, Jerry Cassell, Adam Dale, Joe Dawes, Nathan Hauritz, Matthew Hayden, James Hopes, Michael Kasprowicz, Stuart Law, Martin Love, Jimmy Maher, Brendan Nash, Ashley Noffke, Scott O'Leary, Clinton Perren, Wade Seccombe, Chris Hartley, Mitchell Johnson, Scott Muller, Andrew Symonds. Rookie contracts: Craig Philipson, Duncan Betts, Damien Mackenzie.