Kasprowicz and Hopes also set for Pura Cup return November 27, 2007

Bulls name Symonds and Noffke

Cricinfo staff

Ashley Noffke's inclusion is a bonus for Queensland, who suddenly have a much healthier looking outfit © Getty Images

Andrew Symonds and Ashley Noffke have fought off injury concerns to be named in Queensland's Pura Cup squad for this week's match against South Australia. The Bulls will also welcome back Matthew Hayden, Mitchell Johnson, James Hopes and Michael Kasprowicz for the Gabba clash, which starts on Friday.

Symonds injured his ankle during Australia's second Test against Sri Lanka and the four-day outing would give him a solid run ahead of New Zealand's tour of Australia, which begins in a fortnight. Noffke might also be considered for the Chappell-Hadlee games after his outstanding start to the season - he sits third on the list of Pura Cup wicket-takers and is fourth on the run tally.

Noffke hurt his hamstring during Queensland's last Pura Cup match after he had starred in the first innings, taking 6 for 33 and scoring 82. However, the undermanned Queensland went on to lose to Victoria and Noffke missed the FR Cup game that followed.

Hopes has also been struggling with a hamstring problem and will be keen to impress ahead of the Chappell-Hadlee series, while a groin injury has kept Kasprowicz out of action. The under-strength Queensland suddenly look a much healthier unit - 14 of their contracted players missed the last match - although they have lost Andy Bichel (broken finger) and Ryan Broad (side strain) from the group that played Victoria.

Ray Phillips, Queensland's chairman of selectors, said with the squad's injury dramas the players would be monitored closely before the team is finalised on Thursday. Grant Sullivan, Chris Swan and Aaron Nye have all been omitted to make way for the big-name inclusions.

South Australia have also gained a handy fast bowler, with Shaun Tait named in their 12-man squad after missing their previous game on Cricket Australia's orders. Tait had surgery on his right elbow in June and his recovery has been slower than expected.

Cricket Australia did not want Tait to play back-to-back four-day games within the space of just over a week, so he missed Darren Lehmann's farewell match, the nine-wicket victory over Western Australia that finished in Adelaide on Sunday. Tait and Shane Deitz replace Lehmann and Cullen Bailey in the Redbacks' squad.

Queensland squad Matthew Hayden, Shane Watson, Clinton Perren, Jimmy Maher (capt), Andrew Symonds, Chris Simpson, James Hopes, Ashley Noffke, Chris Hartley (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Michael Kasprowicz, Daniel Doran.

South Australia squad Matthew Elliott, Shane Deitz, Mark Cosgrove, Callum Ferguson, Nathan Adcock (capt), Andy Delmont, Graham Manou (wk), Ryan Harris, Jason Gillespie, Dan Cullen, Paul Rofe, Shaun Tait.