Sri Lanka in Bangladesh 2013-14 February 3, 2014

Mahela, Herath rested from ODIs

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sri Lanka have rested Mahela Jayawardene and Rangana Herath from the three-ODI series against Bangladesh, which follows the two Twenty20 internationals later this month. They also left out batsmen Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne from the one-day squad that played Pakistan in the UAE, and brought in spinning allrounder Angelo Perera, who made 244 off 204 balls in his most recent first-class game.

Mahela had also missed the limited-overs games in the UAE in December last year because he was on paternal leave. Both Mahela and Herath will be available for the two Twenty internationals that precede the ODIs, though, subject to the state of Herath's injured knee, which has put him in severe doubt for the second Test. These Twenty20s are Sri Lanka's last official matches before the World Twenty20 March. 

Angelo Perera was also included in the T20 squad, while the players to miss out from the group that travelled to UAE were Ramith Rambukwella, Thirimanne and Kithuruwan Vithanage.

Thisara Perera was named in both squads, after having his work ethic put under scrutiny by the national selectors. Perera was denied permission to play in the Big Bash League, and told instead to train with Sri Lanka's A team, but he pleased the selectors well enough to return to the national fray. Doubts over Lasith Malinga's fitness have also been quelled, after he returned from the BBL to Sri Lanka briefly, in order to address that issue.

Middle-order batsman Ashan Priyanjan retained his place in the ODI squad, after having impressed with a 74 on debut in Abu Dhabi, in December. He has been with the team in Bangladesh, after replacing Prasanna Jayawardene in the Test squad. Both he and Angelo Perera also bowl effective finger spin in domestic cricket.

ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal (vc), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Ashan Priyanjan, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Angelo Perera, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Seekuge Prasanna.

T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Lasith Malinga (vc), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Angelo Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Seekuge Prasanna.