Bangladesh news September 4, 2014

Four new faces in Bangladesh A squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

The national selectors have made a number of changes in the Bangladesh A team that will take on Zimbabwe A in the first four-day game from September 14. They have retained only four players from the squad that toured the West Indies earlier this year.

The newcomers are batsmen Litton Das and Shadman Islam, legspinner Jubair Hossain and fast bowler Mohammad Shahid.

Litton, Shadman and Jubair are Under-19 players, of whom the first two have played first-class cricket, while Shahid is a broad-shouldered pace bowler from Narayanganj who has taken 38 first-class wickets at 29.78.

Farhad Hossain, Saqlain Sajib and Kamrul Islam Rabbi have been recalled while Raqibul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman and Shahadat Hossain are the international players included in the side.

Of the squad players in the previous Bangladesh A squad, Nasir Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Elias Sunny, Robiul Islam and Taijul Islam are part of the Bangladesh squad for the the two-match Test series against West Indies while Sohag Gazi is scheduled to have his action tested in Cardiff. Abdul Majid, Mustafizur Rahman and Subasish Roy have been dropped.

Naeem Islam, Marshall Ayub, wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan and Muktar Ali are the only survivors from the squad that toured the Caribbean.

The second four-day match will be held from September 21 in Fatullah.

Bangladesh A squad for first four-dayer against Zimbabwe: Liton Kumar Das, Sadman Islam, Marshall Ayub, Farhad Hossain, Rokibul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Naeem Islam, Nurul Hasan (wk), Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Zubair Hossain, Saqlain Sajib, Shahadat Hossain, Mohammad Shahid, Muktar Ali