November 13, 2006


Salim Akbar win British Columbia Championship 2006

Will Luke

Tomalin Cup 2006
The Tomalin Cup is played annually between the champions of the British Columbia Mainland League (BCML) and the winners of the Victoria and District Cricket Association. In 2006, the Cup was played at Beacon Hill, Victoria. Salim Akbar (BCML) had a comfortable eight-wicket win over Incogs.

Andrew Maxwell provided the main resistance when a depleted Incogs side batted. Vilal took 2 for 3 and Imran finished with figures of 2 for 15. Salim Akbar reached the winning target for the loss of just two wickets.

Salim Akbar included Haninder Dhillon, the Canadian international, and players such as Manoj David and Shazad Afzul, who both played for a Canada XI against MCC in 2005. David was recently named winner of the 2006 Cliff Cox Medal, a prestigious award given to the 'best and fairest player' in the BC Mainland Cricket League. The award is decided by the votes of the umpires.
Eddie Norfolk


Will Luke is assistant editor of ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Will Luke

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Will Luke
Assistant editor Will opted against a lifetime of head-bangingly dull administration in the NHS, where he had served for two years. In 2005 came a break at Cricinfo where he slotted right in as a ferociously enthusiastic tea drinker and maker, with a penchant for using "frankly" and "marvellous". He also runs The Corridor, a cricket blog where he can be found ranting and raving about all things - some even involving the sport. He is a great-great nephew of Sir Jack Newman, the former Wellingtonian bowler who took two wickets at 127 apiece for New Zealand.

All articles by this writer