November 15, 2006


Salim Akbar beat Meraloma in BC Mainland Cricket League

Will Luke

British Columbia Mainland Cricket League

Salim Akbar won the playoff championships for the British Columbia Mainland Cricket League in 2006, beating Meraloma in the final. This was a reversal of the regular season positions where Meraloma topped the 7-team Premier Division and Salim Akbar second. Richmond came third and Pakcan fourth. Seattle (Washington, USA) placed last in the regular season standings.

Canadian national team players Geoff Barnett, 47 runs, and Kevin Sandher, 36 runs, were the top individual scorers for Meraloma in the Final. Bilal Khan took 4 wickets for 40 runs as Meraloma was all out for 151 runs in the 50th over.

Salim Akbar’s success was built on a number of steady contributions with the bat. They reached the winning target with almost 4 overs to spare. Jawad Dawood made 34 runs and Hasan Ali Pashar 33 runs. Haninder Dhillon, the Canadian international, was unbeaten on 32.

Eddie Norfolk


Will Luke is assistant editor of ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Will Luke

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Will Luke
Assistant editor Will opted against a lifetime of head-bangingly dull administration in the NHS, where he had served for two years. In 2005 came a break at Cricinfo where he slotted right in as a ferociously enthusiastic tea drinker and maker, with a penchant for using "frankly" and "marvellous". He also runs The Corridor, a cricket blog where he can be found ranting and raving about all things - some even involving the sport. He is a great-great nephew of Sir Jack Newman, the former Wellingtonian bowler who took two wickets at 127 apiece for New Zealand.

All articles by this writer