April 1, 2008


Suva Crusaders raise Dwarka Prasad trophy

Will Luke

Tony Munro

The Suva Crusaders, has won Fiji's annual interdistrict competition, the Dwarka Prasad trophy, by 43 runs.

The team from Fiji's capital batted first in final of the 50-over tournament held over Easter amassing 129 before dismissing Moce, one of Fiji's eastern islands, for 86. Six teams, Crusaders, Moce, Suva Islanders, Tubou, Ono I Lau and Lautoka played. Competition for grounds and playing areas from rugby union, a perennial problem, limited the number of competing teams.

Meanwhile, Tubou from the island of Lakeba, is set to have its 40-year-hold on the Dewar's Shield contested, when Moce travels to Tubou this October.

Part of the reason for the length of Tubou's title reign, is that a prospective challenger, if unable to afford to fly by plane, faces a two day boat trip. Nadi was the last challenger in 2003.


Will Luke is assistant editor of ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Will Luke

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Will Luke
Assistant editor Will opted against a lifetime of head-bangingly dull administration in the NHS, where he had served for two years. In 2005 came a break at Cricinfo where he slotted right in as a ferociously enthusiastic tea drinker and maker, with a penchant for using "frankly" and "marvellous". He also runs The Corridor, a cricket blog where he can be found ranting and raving about all things - some even involving the sport. He is a great-great nephew of Sir Jack Newman, the former Wellingtonian bowler who took two wickets at 127 apiece for New Zealand.

All articles by this writer