October 30, 2008


Aberdeenshire named club of the year

Will Luke

Aberdeenshire lifted the Magners Club-of-the-Year award last night at the Scotland National Cricket League ceremony. Huntly CC and Kinross CC share the honours for the CMYK Junior Club of the Year.

Steven Knox, Sean Weeraratna and Cedric English took the individual honours for the Scotland Premier Division.

Jan Stander celebrated his recent call-up to the Scotland squad by winning two awards in the Second Division whilst also accepting the championship flag on behalf of Stoneywood Dyce.

“It has been a very competitive year in the SNCL with all three divisional champions not sorted out until the final couple of weeks of the year. There have been some excellent team and individual performances which gained due reward tonight,” said Roddy Smith, the chief executive of Cricket Scotland.

“Grange, Aberdeenshire and Stoneywood Dyce are very worthy winners of the three league titles whilst Aberdeenshire were a clear winner of the Magners Club of the Year for their efforts on the field, with junior cricket and their hosting of one day internationals for the first time.”


Will Luke is assistant editor of ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Will Luke

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Will Luke
Assistant editor Will opted against a lifetime of head-bangingly dull administration in the NHS, where he had served for two years. In 2005 came a break at Cricinfo where he slotted right in as a ferociously enthusiastic tea drinker and maker, with a penchant for using "frankly" and "marvellous". He also runs The Corridor, a cricket blog where he can be found ranting and raving about all things - some even involving the sport. He is a great-great nephew of Sir Jack Newman, the former Wellingtonian bowler who took two wickets at 127 apiece for New Zealand.

All articles by this writer