South American Championships April 14, 2009

Argentina A win South American Championships

Tony Munro

Tony Munro

Argentina A has won the eighth South American Championships (SAC) after an emphatic seven-wicket win over hosts, Brazil in Sao Paulo yesterday.

Brazil batted first and were skittled for 65, thanks to Sergio Ciaburri's 3 for 6 from four overs and Alejo Tissera who took 3-13. Tissera – who was Man of the Match - remained unbeaten on 19 to guide Argentina 'A' to their target in the 16th over.

The win allowed Argentina A to reclaim the championship, after losing the last two tournaments to the Miami Masters, who did not play this time.

Two games were possible yesterday, with the Twenty20 format being used for the first time in the competition’s history.

In the other game, Chile earned second place with a 43-run win over Peru. Chile made a challenging 175 for 7 from their 20 overs, largely due to a 91-run stand for the third wicket shared between captain Guy Hooper (66) and Prateek Dahiya (53).

Peru never appeared to be in course for a successful chase, despite skipper Miles Buesst's 40 (five fours and one six), and Nick Appleyard chipping in with 32. Dahiya’s allround effort – he took 2 for 24 – earned him the Man-of-the-Match award after Peru were bowled out for 132.

The finishing order of the four teams was: 1st - Argentina A 3 matches, 3 wins, 0 losses, 12 points; 2nd – Chile 3 matches, 2 wins, 1 loss, 8 points; 3rd - Brazil 3 matches, 1 win, 2 losses, 4 points; 4th – Peru 3 matches, 0 wins, 3 losses, 0 points.

Argentina A batsman Grant Dugmore, fittingly celebrated his last tournament as an ICC Development Officer by winning the Player-of-the-Tournament award, while Chile captain Guy Hooper was the Batsman of the Tournament. Argentina A player Sergio Ciaburri took the bowling honours.

Cricinfo has been told that Suriname officials considered sending a team to the tournament for the first time, but the cost of other commitments at next month's World Cricket League Division Seven and under-age regional events ruled that out. The next SAC will be held in Chile in 2011.

Brazil, Chile and Peru are scheduled to join Turks & Caicos Islands, Belize and Mexico at the WCL Americas Division Three tournament in Chile later this year. The Falkland Islands will not be taking part, as its players won't be able to get sufficient time off work to participate in the event.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • testli5504537 on October 22, 2009, 2:32 GMT

    congrats to Argentina I know you missed us there hey my friends from Peru sorry we were not there I know it would have put A smile on your face if we were maybe next time Cheers

  • testli5504537 on April 17, 2009, 15:11 GMT

    Falkland Islands will need to stump up a team by next time, though, or they'll risk losing their Affiliate status, as will Costa Rica and Cuba. Nice to see Mexico appearing in an official tournament for the first time, though.

  • testli5504537 on April 15, 2009, 11:10 GMT

    Way to go CHILE - you guys simply have to win the tournament the next year around. Would be happy to send across a few youngsters to contribute. Great seeing Guy up there with the runs, and Tony with his prose.

    Salut !

  • No featured comments at the moment.