CPL 2013 July 4, 2013

Rohrer, Shehzad and Jacobs drafted in for CPL

ESPNcricinfo staff

Ben Rohrer, Ahmed Shehzad and Davy Jacobs have been drafted in to the Caribbean Premier League as replacements for Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh and Aaron Finch, after the Australian trio was unable to get no-objection certificates from Cricket Australia.

Rohrer will replace his countryman Smith for Antigua Hawksbills, Pakistan opener Shehzad will step in for Marsh for Jamaica Tallawahs, and South African wicketkeeper Jacobs will be coming in for Finch for Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel.

Rohrer, who scored 295 runs at a strike-rate of 152.09 in the 2012-13 edition of the Big Bash League, said that he was relishing the prospect of working with Hawksbills coach Viv Richards and Ricky Ponting, who is part of the squad.

Shehzad was part of the Pakistan squad that won the 2009 World Twenty20 and reached the semi-finals of the 2011 World Cup. He has scored two domestic T20 centuries and has a strike-rate of 134.23.

"Losing Shaun is a shame but we have got a like-for-like replacement with Ahmed Shehzad who is perfect for the team's balance," Paul Nixon, the Tallawahs coach, said. Nixon also praised Shehzad's "special ability" as a top-order batsman.

"Chris (Gayle) knows him well and we believe that he will be a match-winner who can really make his mark on the world stage. He is a very gifted and classy player and we feel he is the last piece in our jigsaw."

Jacobs, like Shehzad and Rohrer, initially missed out on a spot with one of the six franchises in the draft in June. He captained South African franchise Warriors to their first ever Twenty20 title in 2010-11.

"Davy Jacobs is a proven performer in Twenty20 cricket," Gordon Greenidge, coach of the Red Steel, said. "The fact he can bat anywhere in the top order is great as it provides us with real flexibility and I like the balance of our squad.

"He will add steel to the Red Steel dressing room and bring a winning mentality and vast experience to the squad."

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League starts on July 30 in Barbados and concludes on August 24 in Trinidad.