Champions League Twenty20 2011 September 3, 2011

Somerset face Champions League squad problems

ESPNcricinfo staff

Somerset are likely to have to field a weakened side at the Champions League Twenty20 despite naming key players in their initial squad. Craig Kieswetter and Jos Buttler could both be selected in England's squad to face West Indies in the two Twenty20s at The Oval, which clashes with the qualifying event, leaving Somerset without a major wicketkeeper.

That responsibility is set to fall on Alex Barrow, a 19-year-old, who has yet to play a Twenty20 match and has just four first-class appearances. Meanwhile, Somerset won't have the services of Kieron Pollard, as he will represent Mumbai Indians, or Marcus Trescothick, who no longer travels overseas due to health reasons.

However, Somerset have three players with IPL experience in their squad: Murali Kartik and Alfonso Thomas, who play for Pune Warriors, and Roelof van der Merwe, who was part of the Delhi Daredevils squad in the last edition. James Hildreth, who scored 346 runs in the Friends Life t20, is also in the squad.

Leicestershire, meanwhile, have all the 13 players who played for them in the Friends Life t20. Abdul Razzaq will be the only Pakistan player in the tournament, subject to him being successful in his visa application, after Pakistan's Twenty20 teams were overlooked. The tournament will be Paul Nixon's last, after he recently announced his retirement. Andrew McDonald, the Australia allrounder, and James Taylor, who recently made his ODI debut for England, are also part of Leicestershire's squad.

The qualifying stage of the Champions League starts on September 19 and Somerset and Leicestershire will have two matches each to try to reach the main stage of the tournament.

Somerset: Alex Barrow, Jos Buttler, Nick Compton, Adam Dibble, George Dockrell, James Hildreth, Gemaal Hussain Murali Kartik, Steven Kirby, Craig Kieswetter, Craig Meschede, Arul Suppiah, Alfonso Thomas, Peter Trego, Roelof van der Merwe.

Leicestershire: Matthew Boyce, Nathan Buck, Josh Cobb, Jacques Du Toit, Harry Gurney, Claude Henderson, Matthew Hoggard, Will Jefferson, Andrew McDonald, Jigar Naik, Paul Nixon, Abdul Razzaq, Greg Smith, James Taylor, Wayne White.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Rajeev on September 5, 2011, 15:18 GMT

    The present weather condition in my home town UPPAL, Hyderabad is not a good sign for cricket matches. Every evening from my office i am coming in wet dress because of unseasonal rains. What if this continues / repeats after 2-3 weeks ?

  • Kiran on September 5, 2011, 9:15 GMT

    Surely will miss trescothick he is in good form. guys Pl don't discuss about inclusion of Pakistani team its decided tht no pak team will play this season's CLT20 , hope for next year. CLT20 is organised by BCCI, SA board & Australia board. these 3 boards spend money on organising of CLT20 matches & players participated. other country boards are just to make money from their represented domestic teams. no other country have any kind of stake or decision making powers regarding CLT20 except BCCI, SA board & aus board, but with inclusive of ICC. so Pl any one thinking of their domestic teams not included, its doesn't matter to anyone.. CLT20 is just to earn more money for players & clubs.

  • Dummy4 on September 4, 2011, 9:32 GMT

    I think Pakistan side should be included in this series as like other teams to have tough fair and good tournament. They deserve because Pakistan is one of the best T20 side in the world! But is it jealousy that separates Pakistan from this champions league?? they should be given a chance to play this league if India have any probleem with this than ICC should think over it.....!!!

  • Dummy4 on September 4, 2011, 9:22 GMT

    Can't believe they haven't picked Waller the young and talented English wrist spinner, yet have picked the Irish spinner and three other spinners from Overseas! shocking!

  • Mohammad on September 4, 2011, 9:22 GMT

    I don't see Somerset's squad as week as it is shown to be.. It was a known fact that Tresco do not travels abroad. and Pollard committed to Mumbai..!! and talking about Butler and Kieswetter. they could easily play the qualifying round on 20th and 21st September. and head back to England to play the two T20I on 23rd and 25th.. and then return back to India to play the rest of C.L matches.. they will only be missing a single match of the main round.

  • Dummy4 on September 4, 2011, 7:34 GMT

    Why there is no side from Pakistan. Pakistan has been T20 Champion and runner up. Pakistan have a lot of very good T20 crickter like Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir, Rana Naveed, Kamran Akmal, Misbah Ul Haq. So come on World of Cricket. Please Include Pakistani sides next time.

  • Dummy4 on September 4, 2011, 6:10 GMT

    Somerset are going to be crushed by KKR ......... they're gonna crash out

  • Ehtshaam on September 3, 2011, 21:25 GMT

    No Pakistani Club side in the League..... being a Cricket Lover n Pakistani, it hurts but ABdul Razzak inclusion in Leicstershire is encouraging n I m sure that he will make a difference for the Leicstershire Progress in the competition.. Go Razzzakkkk..

  • joel on September 3, 2011, 20:23 GMT

    Nixon's fairytale will end on september 20 th, when they get crushed by Trinbago. Remember you heard it here first.

  • Mainuddin on September 3, 2011, 13:04 GMT

    Australian sides are a joke compared to the IPL, County or South African teams. In fact, they are worse than even Bangladeshi club sides. I don't know how 2 poor Australian teams got qualified whereas no teams from Bangladesh were allowed.

  • No featured comments at the moment.