Champions League T20 2012 September 15, 2012

Jayawardene to lead Daredevils in CLT20

ESPNcricinfo staff

Mahela Jayawardene will captain IPL team Delhi Daredevils in the Champions League T20 in October after Virender Sehwag asked the franchise to be relieved of the responsibility. Sehwag had led Daredevils in four out of five IPL seasons but said he now wanted to focus on his batting.

"Viru told us a few months ago that he wanted to bat freely and suggested that we make Mahela the captain of the side," Delhi Daredevils mentor TA Sekar said.

Daredevils are in Group A of the CLT20, with Kolkata Knight Riders, Perth Scorchers, Titans and a qualifier. Group B comprises Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sydney Sixers, Highveld Lions and a qualifier. The qualifiers will be two teams out of Trinidad and Tobago, Sialkot Stallions, Uva Next, Yorkshire, Hampshire and Auckland Aces. The tournament begins on October 9 in South Africa.

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Venugopal Rao, Pawan Negi, Naman Ojha (wk), Ajit Agarkar, Unmukt Chand, Aavishkar Salvi.*

September 21, 2012. 0700 GMT - This was amended to state that Aavishkar Salvi had replaced Varun Aaron, who was ruled out of the tournament as he is to undergo tonsillectomy