|Photos||Video & Audio||Blogs||Statistics||Archive||Shop||Mobile|
January 26, 2001
West Indian Test umpire Steve Bucknor called a Windward Islands bowler for throwing in a Busta Cup match yesterday.
Off-spinner Shane Shillingford was removed from the attack on the opening day of the Windwards' game against Leeward Islands at St George's, Grenada, on Thursday, after Bucknor called no-ball on three occasions because of the bowler "throwing".
Shillingford was called twice when Bucknor was standing at square leg. When he was switched to the same end at which Bucknor was standing, the veteran of 54 Tests and 80 one-day internationals called Shillingford again. Under Law 24 of the Laws of Cricket, the bowler had to be removed immediately from the attack for the remainder of the innings following his third transgression.
Shillingford bowled 3.3 overs, taking 1/15 (Alex Adams, clean bowled), before he was banished. In three previous Busta Cup matches this season he has taken 13 wickets at 24.53, with a best haul of 7/66 against Jamaica. This is the first time this season he has appeared in a match umpired by Bucknor.
At the end of the first day's play, the Leeward Islands were 266 for 8.
In January 2005, Shane Watson made his Test debut. What does he have to show for a decade in the game?
Three Australia players made half-centuries on day one at the MCG; for each of them, the innings' meant different things
A look at some of cricket's most memorable strokes - and their makers
To consider banning it in the wake of Phillip Hughes' death may be knee-jerk, but to refuse to consider the pros and cons of a ban is unwise