Bucknor calls Busta Cup bowler for throwing

Rick Eyre

January 26, 2001

Text size: A | A

West Indian Test umpire Steve Bucknor called a Windward Islands bowler for throwing in a Busta Cup match yesterday.

Steve Bucknor
Steve Bucknor
Photo CricInfo

Off-spinner Shane Shillingford was removed from the attack on the opening day of the Windwards' game against Leeward Islands at St George's, Grenada, on Thursday, after Bucknor called no-ball on three occasions because of the bowler "throwing".

Shillingford was called twice when Bucknor was standing at square leg. When he was switched to the same end at which Bucknor was standing, the veteran of 54 Tests and 80 one-day internationals called Shillingford again. Under Law 24 of the Laws of Cricket, the bowler had to be removed immediately from the attack for the remainder of the innings following his third transgression.

Shillingford bowled 3.3 overs, taking 1/15 (Alex Adams, clean bowled), before he was banished. In three previous Busta Cup matches this season he has taken 13 wickets at 24.53, with a best haul of 7/66 against Jamaica. This is the first time this season he has appeared in a match umpired by Bucknor.

At the end of the first day's play, the Leeward Islands were 266 for 8.

RSS Feeds: Rick Eyre

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
Related Links
Players/Officials: Steve Bucknor | Shane Shillingford
Teams: West Indies
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days