November 6, 1999

Youth World Cup draw: Pakistan to play opener against Kenya

Islamabad, Nov 5: Pakistan has been lined up with South Africa, Kenya and Nepal in the group-C for the Youth World Cup cricket preliminary round starting on January 11, 2000 in Sri Lanka, according to the draws released by the organisers.

Pakistan, the runners-up in the last Under-19 Cup played in England, will play its opener against Kenya on Jan 12 at Radella Ground. Their second group-C fixture is scheduled against Nepal at Asgiriya International Stadium on Jan 14 and will take on South Africa in their last pool match on Jan 16 at Kurunegala Welagedera Stadium.

Defending champions India have been placed in the group-B

Three days have been fixed for warm-up games scheduled for Jan 7-8-9 while opening ceremony will be held on Jan 10.

The 16 participating teams have been divided into four groups of four teams each.

Two teams for each group will qualify for the Super League which will be contested on league basis in two groups. The qualification in Super League-I and Super League-II will be made according to the following format.

The group-A/group-C winners and group-B/group-D runners up will form Super League-I, whereas the group-B/group-D winners and group-A/group-C runners up will comprise the Super League-II.

Meanwhile, the bottom two teams from each groups will contest a Plate Championship which be contested according to the following format.

The group-A/group-B numberthree teams and group-C/group-D bottom teams form Plate-I league whereas group-A/group-B bottom teams and group-C/group-D number three teams will compete in the Plate-II league.

Following are the four groups and the schedule of preliminary round league fixtures:

Group-A: England, Zimbabwe, West Indies and Americas.

Group-B: New Zealand, India, Bangladesh and Holland.

Group-C: South Africa, Pakistan Kenya and Nepal.

Group-D: Australia, Sri Lanka, Ireland and Namibia.

Jan 11: Australia vs Namibia at P Sara Stadium, Sri Lanka vs Ireland at SSC ground, England vs Americas at Moors Ground, Zimbabwe vs West Indies at NCC Ground.

Jan 12: New Zealand vs Holland at Matara Uyanwase Stadium, India vs Bangladesh at De Soysa Park Moratuwa, South Africa vs Nepal at BOI Grounds Katunayake, Pakistan vs Kenya at Radella Ground.

Jan 13: Australia vs Ireland at CCC Ground, Sri Lanka vs Namibia at P Sara Stadium, England vs West Indies at SSC Ground, Zimbabwe vs Americas at Kadirana Ground.

Jan 14: New Zealand vs Bangladesh at Galle International Stadium, India vs Holland at Matara Uyanwase Stadium, SouthAfrica vs Kenya at Kurunegala Welagedera Stadium, Pakistan vs Nepal at Asgiriya International Stadium.

Jan 15: Australia vs Sri Lanka at Premadasa International Stadium, Ireland vs Namibia at Moors Ground, England vs Zimbabwe at CCC Ground, West Indies vs Americas at Kadirana Ground.

Jan 16: New Zealand vs India at Galle International Stadium, Bangladesh vs Holland at De Soysa Park Morantuwa, South Africa vs Pakistan at Kurumegala Welagedra Stadium, Kenya vs Nepal at Asgiriya Stadium