March 17, 2000

One-Day International squad for the Australian tour of South Africa

Australian Cricket Board Chief Executive Officer Malcolm Speed today announced that the National Selection Panel had chosen the one-day international squad for the Australian tour of South Africa in April 2000.

The squad to compete in three one-day internationals against South Africa is:

  • Stephen Waugh (c)(NSW)
  • Shane Warne (vc)(VIC)
  • Michael Bevan (NSW)
  • Damien Fleming (VIC)
  • Adam Gilchrist (WA)
  • Ian Harvey (VIC)
  • Matthew Hayden (QLD)
  • Brett Lee (NSW)
  • Shane Lee (NSW)
  • Damien Martyn (WA)
  • Glenn McGrath (NSW)
  • Andrew Symonds (QLD)
  • Mark Waugh (NSW)

    Team Management:

  • Steve Bernard (NSW - Team Manager)
  • John Buchanan (QLD - Coach)
  • Pat Farhart (NSW - Physiotherapist)
  • David Misson (NSW - Fitness Advisor)
  • Mike Walsh (VIC - Assistant Manager/Cricket Analyst)

    The squad, which is unchanged from the one which beat New Zealand 4-1 in the recent one-day series on the Coca-Cola tour.

    The squad will contest a three-match series against the Proteas starting on 12 April in Durban, continuing on 14 April in Cape Town and concluding on 16 April in Johannesburg.

    The two sides will then contest a further three-match one-day international series in August indoors at Melbourne's Colonial Stadium.

  • Comments