Deodhar Trophy 2008-09

Jaffer to lead West Zone in Deodhar Trophy

Cricinfo staff

March 7, 2009

Text size: A | A

Ajinkya Rahane is part of an imposing West Zone batting line-up © Cricinfo Ltd

Wasim Jaffer, the Mumbai opener, has been made the captain of the West Zone squad for the Deodhar Trophy with Parthiv Patel as his deputy.

Jaffer leads a strong West batting which includes six of the top nine run-getters of the Ranji season. Besides Jaffer and Parthiv, the side includes the prolific Mumbai batsman Ajinkya Rahane, Saurashtra's stars of the season, Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara, Maharashtra's Kedar Jadhav, and Gujarat's Bhavik Thaker.

The bowling doesn't look as imposing on paper though, and is filled with youngsters none of whom have international experience.

West are in Group A along with North and Central. The league matches start on March 13 with the teams that top the two groups facing off in the final on March 18.

Squad: Wasim Jaffer (capt), Parthiv Patel (vice-capt & wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhavik Thaker, Kedar Jadhav, Siddharth Trivedi, Abhishek Nayar, Rakesh Solanki, Iqbal Abdulla, Harshad Khadiwale, Murtuja Vahora, Jitendra Patil, Kamlesh Makwana

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
East Zone v West Zone at Cuttack - Mar 18, 2009
West Zone won by 218 runs
East Zone v Central Zone at Cuttack - Mar 16, 2009
East Zone won by 18 runs
West Zone v Zim Pres XI at Cuttack - Mar 16, 2009
West Zone won by 6 wickets (with 71 balls remaining)
East Zone v North Zone at Cuttack - Mar 14, 2009
East Zone won by 65 runs
South Zone v Zim Pres XI at Cuttack - Mar 14, 2009
South Zone won by 3 wickets (with 60 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days