ICC World Twenty20 2012 August 15, 2012

Milne and Vettori in New Zealand World T20 squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

The fast bowler Adam Milne has been named in New Zealand's squad for the ICC World Twenty20, 18 months after he last played for his country. Daniel Vettori has also been included after being ruled out of the upcoming Test series in India due to a groin problem, and he will have the chance to test his injury early next month with the same squad to play two T20s in India on September 8 and 11.

There was no room for Andrew Ellis, Tom Latham, Daniel Flynn or Dean Brownlie, all of whom were part of New Zealand's squad for their most recent T20s, in the West Indies. As expected, James Franklin is part of the final 15, having missed the West Indies games because the team management wanted to allow him an extended run in the T20 format in county cricket instead of flying in to the Caribbean for just two games.

Others left out from the original 30-man preliminary squad include the fast bowlers Neil Wagner, Andy McKay and Trent Boult, and the legspinner Tarun Nethula. The national selection manager, Kim Littlejohn, said he was pleased to see the return of Milne, 20, who debuted for New Zealand as an 18-year-old in December 2010.

"Adam Milne has impressed during his time with the winter development squad and his extra pace offers something a little different," Littlejohn said. "We are confident he will have an impact in international cricket and will seize this opportunity.

"We are thrilled to have Daniel Vettori back in the fold. He brings a huge amount of experience and knowledge of conditions in the sub-continent. The squad also welcomes back James Franklin, who has been playing for Twenty20 cricket for Essex in the county competition."

After their two matches in India, New Zealand head to Sri Lanka for the World T20, where they must first face Pakistan and Bangladesh in the group stage, before learning whether they have qualified to move through into the next phase.

New Zealand squad Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor (capt), Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Ronnie Hira, Adam Milne.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on August 17, 2012, 6:07 GMT

    How embarressing is it going to be for them if India go down to NZ now.

  • Dummy4 on August 16, 2012, 6:15 GMT

    add whoever you want it's not like they have any chances of winning anyway..

  • Dennis on August 16, 2012, 6:04 GMT

    The problem with our ( NZ ) is not the bowling , its the best its been since Hadlee retired with Bracewell , Southee , Boult , al in there early 20s Wagner ,Milne and Wheeler coming through , its the batting ,we can,t seem to bat more than a day in a test match .

  • Ronald on August 16, 2012, 3:35 GMT

    James Franklin???Laxidasical is a word that comes to mind but thats NZ selectors for you ..I do however welcome the selection of Milne ...Lets hope he has improved over the off season and if he has he will be a real asset ...would have George Worker in for Ross Taylor ..If he is eligible to play for NZ..and poor Jessie ...is it because he gave that terrible Olympic commentator a going over in the boxing ring? Things happen in strange ways in NZ cricket ...Hk

  • Dummy4 on August 16, 2012, 1:21 GMT


    He was clocked in the 20/20 at around150kph. I can't remember the exact speed but it think it was 148kms

  • Lindsay on August 16, 2012, 0:48 GMT

    @Plow when he played in the Twenty20s a couple of years ago, he was mostly in the 140s and he did break the 150 mark a few times. He certainly is capable of 150-155, whether he does it regularly is another matter.

  • Dummy4 on August 16, 2012, 0:23 GMT

    @plow Yes he can bowl that fast previously it has made no difference because he didn't really do anything with the ball. When you go up against the top order of the big cricketing countries that extra 10km is not going to help when the batsmen are confident of where the ball is going to end up. With the great fast bowlers like lee, steyn, malinga and Bond they are great because of their swing and skill where the batsmen have no time to make decisions on where the ball is going. It has been 18 months since Milne played international cricket, if NZ Cricket has developed his skills to include some variation he could clean up. If he comes out and continues to bowl as he did his 150km balls are going to sit up to be smash him back out of international cricket.

  • Dummy4 on August 16, 2012, 0:20 GMT


    Just wanted to weigh in on the Milne debate. I'm going over footage of the T20 against Pakistan and the fastest ball I can find is 154km/h. He sent it down a few times over 150 and was consistently in the 145ish area. I'm not sure what his longevity would be like in the longer form but given his age, he could well become one of the quickest bowlers around if his back holds up.

  • Beau on August 15, 2012, 23:14 GMT

    @Lermy, et. al. - I'm an Aussie who has spent a little bit of time in England, Canada & NZ over recent years. All of these countries are packed to the gunwales with ex-pat South Africans. No surprise that some of them play cricket. It's not about cricket boards *luring* players overseas, it's just the small matters of endless civil wars all over Africa, and SA's own social and political "issues". GET OVER IT! You and I would do the same thing in these guys' shoes.

  • Peter on August 15, 2012, 22:06 GMT

    @ qpzmwoxn.. Can Milne honestly bowl at 150 to 155 km/hr? If so that makes him the fastest in the world right now. Steyn puts it down around 145 on a good day, M. Morkel a nudge quicker, and honestly cont think of too many other bowlers right now really heaving it down. Maybe Fidel Edwards is another genuine quick. To say 150 to 155 is a huge claim and if that is true I expect Milne to be known as the only genuine fast bowler in the world right now assuming he is good enough to continue playing international cricket. My guess is that he will put it down in the high 130's and just nudge it over 140 to 143 km/hr...on his quick ones, thats it.

  • No featured comments at the moment.