Canada news

Bagai to lead experienced Canada

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 16, 2013

Comments: 2 | Text size: A | A

Canada squad for the World Twenty20 Qualifier

  • Ashish Bagai (captain), Jimmy Hansra (vice-captain), Hiral Patel, Harvir Baidwan, Damodar Daesrath, Jeremy Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Rizwan Cheema, Usman Limbada, Abzal Dean, Hamza Tariq, Henry Osinde, Raza Rehman, Junaid Siddiqui, Kenneth Kamyuka

Cricket Canada has named an experienced 15-man squad for next month's ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. Ashish Bagai will captain the team as they attempt to qualify for the 2014 tournament in Bangladesh.

Bagai, Rizwan Cheema and Henry Osinde are among a clutch of 30-plus players, which also includes fast bowler Kenneth Kamyuka, who recently made his Canada debut four years after last playing for Uganda. Canada have not previously reached the World T20 but next year's expanded tournament means six teams from the Qualifier will progress.

The two-week qualifying competition will begin on November 15, with Canada in Group A alongside Ireland, UAE, USA, Namibia, Italy, Hong Kong and Uganda, the country where both Osinde and Kamyuka grew up. Canada have scheduled a ten-day training camp in Sri Lanka beforehand, with matches against local first-class sides as well as a game against Scotland.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (October 17, 2013, 0:19 GMT)

A solid and well balanced side put together by Cricket Canada ... wishing everyone associated with the team the very best as they kick off their ICC World T20 Q campaign!

Posted by Cpt.Meanster on (October 16, 2013, 18:03 GMT)

As a Canadian, I hope Canada gets to play competitive T20 cricket against other top sides. Recently our team has been doing well in T20s. Like Afghanistan, Canada can be decent in T20s and hopefully they can qualify for the next ICC World T20. Good luck boys.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
Afghanistan v Ireland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 30, 2013
Ireland won by 68 runs
U.A.E. v Nepal at Abu Dhabi - Nov 30, 2013
Nepal won by 5 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
U.A.E. v Ireland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Ireland won by 62 runs
Afghanistan v Nepal at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Afghanistan won by 7 wickets (with 34 balls remaining)
Hong Kong v Netherlands at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Netherlands won by 7 wickets (with 8 balls remaining)
P.N.G. v Scotland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Scotland won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days