Badani century helps South to 10-run win

Staff Reporter

January 10, 2003

Text size: A | A

Hemang Badani struck a well-paced run-a-ball century to propel South Zone to a 10-run win over East Zone in their Deodhar Trophy tie at Visakhapatnam's Indira Priyadarshini Stadium on Thursday.

Winning the toss, South Zone skipper Venkatesh Prasad opted to bat first. Ambati Rayudu provided some firepower at the top of the order with a 34-ball 30 that included four fours and one six. Arjun Yadav at number three made 44 off 65 balls, and it his partnership with Badani that laid the foundation for a fighting total.

When Yadav were dismissed, South were 167 for three after 32.1 overs, so the final score of 261 all out in 49.3 overs may have come as something of a let-down. But Rohan Gavaskar's left-arm spin in an incisive spell of 6.3-0-35-5 broke the back of the lower middle-order, spurring the late collapse.

East Zone looked to be cruising when Shiv Sunder Das and MS Dhoni were batting well, adding 62 runs for the third wicket. But Das fell (63, 71b, 6x4) and although Dhoni made 71 (87b, 7x4, 2x6), the later batsmen could not capitalise on the start. To make matters worse, as many as four run-outs littered the East Zone innings, which finally ended on 251 in 49.1 overs.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Investec Test: England v India at Southampton - Jul 27-31
England 569/7d & 205/4d India 330 & 112/4
Australia A v India A at Darwin - Jul 31
India A won by 5 wickets (with 13 balls remaining)
Australia A v India A at Darwin
Aug 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:30 GMT | 20:30 EDT | 19:30 CDT | 17:30 PDT)
4th Investec Test: England v India at Manchester
Aug 7-11, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Only Test: Eng Women v India Women at Wormsley
Aug 13-16, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!