India domestic

The Ranji Trophy

Cricinfo staff

The Ranji Trophy was launched following a meeting of the Indian board in July 1934 and the competition began the following season with the winners receiving a trophy donated by the Maharajah of Patiala. It was named after KS Ranjitsinhji, even though he barely played any of his cricket in the country.

The tournament format was knock-out rounds through to a timeless final. Such were the rules that draws were won by sides leading on the first innings, and many record scores resulted as sides opted to bat their opposition into the ground. Unlike other countries, World War Two did not disrupt the tournament and the 1940s were probably the heyday of the event with huge scores, record-breaking batting feats, and a flowering of Indian batting.

In 1957-58 after a spate of matches where sides with no chance of winning conceded, the rules were changed and zonal groups introduced. From 1956-57, Bombay established a remarkable stranglehold over the tournament, winning 15 straight titles and 18 in 19 years. It signaled a change in social balance from the old states to the new commercial capital. In the late 1960s the powerbase shifted south, largely because of the dominance of high-class spinners.


Winners Runners-up
1934-35 Bombay Northern India
1935-36 Bombay Madras
1936-37 Nawanagar Bengal
1937-38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1938-39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1939-40 Maharashtra United Province
1940-41 Maharashtra Madras
1941-42 Bombay Mysore
1942-43 Baroda Hyderabad
1943-44 Western India Bengal
1944-45 Bombay Holkar
1945-46 Holkar Baroda
1946-47 Baroda Holkar
1947-48 Holkar Bombay
1948-49 Bombay Baroda
1949-50 Baroda Holkar
1950-51 Holkar Gujarat
1951-52 Bombay Holkar
1952-53 Holkar Bengal
1953-54 Bombay Holkar
1954-55 Madras Holkar
1955-56 Bombay Bengal
1956-57 Bombay Services
1957-58 Baroda Services
1958-59 Bombay Bengal
1959-60 Bombay Mysore
1960-61 Bombay Rajasthan
1961-62 Bombay Rajasthan
1962-63 Bombay Rajasthan
1963-64 Bombay Rajasthan
1964-65 Bombay Hyderabad
1965-66 Bombay Rajasthan
1966-67 Bombay Rajasthan
1967-68 Bombay Madras
1968-69 Bombay Bengal
1969-70 Bombay Rajasthan
1970-71 Bombay Maharashtra
1971-72 Bombay Bengal
1972-73 Bombay Tamil Nadu
1973-74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1974-75 Bombay Karnataka
1975-76 Bombay Bihar
1976-77 Bombay Delhi
1977-78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1978-79 Delhi Karnataka
1979-80 Delhi Bombay
1980-81 Bombay Delhi
1981-82 Delhi Karnataka
1982-83 Karnataka Bombay
1983-84 Bombay Delhi
1984-85 Bombay Delhi
1985-86 Delhi Haryana
1986-87 Hyderabad Delhi
1987-88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1988-89 Delhi Bengal
1989-90 Bengal Delhi
1990-91 Haryana Bombay
1991-92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1992-93 Punjab Maharashtra
1993-94 Bombay Bengal
1994-95 Bombay Punjab
1995-96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1996-97 Mumbai Delhi
1997-98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1998-99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1999-00 Mumbai Hyderabad
2000-01 Baroda Railways
2001-02 Railways Baroda
2002-03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2003-04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2004-05 Railways Punjab
2005-06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2006-07 Mumbai Bengal
2007-08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2008-09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2009-10 Mumbai Karnataka
2010-11 Rajasthan Baroda
2011-12 Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
2012-13 Mumbai Saurashtra
2013-14 Karnataka Maharashtra
2014-15 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2015-16 Mumbai Saurashtra