BCCI Annual General Meeting 2011

N Srinivasan becomes BCCI president

Tariq Engineer

September 19, 2011

Comments: 18 | Text size: A | A

N Srinivasan addresses the media after the BCCI's working committee meeting, New Delhi, June 12, 2007
N Srinivasan is the new BCCI president © AFP

N Srinivasan has officially taken over as BCCI president from Shashank Manohar at the board's annual general meeting in Mumbai. Srinivasan was appointed president-elect at last year's meeting, and had served as the honorary secretary for the past three years.

Srinivasan will be joined by a new cast of BCCI office bearers. Sanjay Jagdale, who was the joint-secretary under Manohar, was elected secretary of the board, while Anurag Thakur, the president of the Himachal Pradesh Association, will be the new joint-secretary. Ajay Shirke, the president of the Maharashtra Cricket Association was elected treasurer. All three candidates were unopposed.

Three of the five zonal vice-presidents were re-elected. Arun Jaitley remained North Zone's representative while Shivlal Yadav and Niranjan Shah continued to represent the South and West Zones respectively. Chitrak Mitra, an official of the Cricket Association of Bengal, replaced Arindam Ganguly while Sudhir Dahir, the former president of the Vidharba Cricket Association, took over from Rajiv Shukla as the Central Zone vice-president.

There was one change made to the selection committee for the men's national team. Mohinder Amarnath, the former India allrounder, replaced former India batsman Yashpal Sharma as the representative from the North Zone. Sharma had served his four-year term and was eligible for reappointment. Kris Srikkanth, the current chief of selectors, had his term extended for another year. The rest of the panel comprising Narendra Hirwani (Central Zone), Raja Venkat (East Zone) and Surendra Bhave (West Zone), was retained.

As was widely expected Rajiv Shukla was appointed the new chairman of the IPL governing council, replacing Chirayu Amin. Amarnath's appointment meant he could no longer serve on the IPL governing council and MP Pandove, the former board secretary, was appointed in his place.

The board also created a new committee to oversee and co-ordinate its various academies, the most prominent of which is the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bangalore. The committee will be headed by Pandove, who was given special dispensation to attend all NCA meetings. Anil Kumble was retained as NCA chairman, while Ranjib Biswal was made the new vice-chairman.

Sunil Gavaskar stepped down from his post on the BCCI's technical committee. "Mr Gavaskar has written to us that he has been on the technical committee for seven years and it's time that we search for a fresh face," Srinivasan said. "It is our intention to appoint Sourav Ganguly as the chairman of the technical committee. We haven't yet been able to contact him but hopefully he will give his consent."

Tariq Engineer is a senior sub-editor at Cricinfo

RSS Feeds: Tariq Engineer

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by sivakarthi on (September 21, 2011, 7:48 GMT)

Indian Cricket's destructing period starts after appointed srinivasan as a president. supports kapil for wants kumble as a chief selector.

Posted by   on (September 20, 2011, 5:49 GMT)

its such a shame for the bcci to appoint N srinivasan as the president ..why dont the top brass check for his conflict of interest with the IPL team CSK

Posted by P.Srikanth on (September 20, 2011, 4:45 GMT)

I can't foresee anyone becoming chief selector this time. A chief selector is one who needs to be unbiased, cool temperament, and wise enough to take decisions and feedbacks. Going back to our records, we can have either Mohinder Amarnath, Kapil Dev or Ravi shastri as chief of selection committee.

Posted by Prash120 on (September 19, 2011, 21:31 GMT)

@ Praveenthottathil Thottathil: don't forget Ganguly was able to win most test matches also becoz he had best batting line up of Dravid, Sachin, Laxman and himself in prime form and very good bowling in Zaheer, Harbhajan and Kumble. Sachin's contribution has helped him to become a great captain and player.Selfish players can't stay in Indian team for long. What Indian cricket is today is all becoz of players like Sachin, Dravid and Laxman....

Posted by   on (September 19, 2011, 16:41 GMT)

Great! Jimmy Amarnath has joined a bunch that he himself used to ridicule!

Posted by Hero557 on (September 19, 2011, 16:22 GMT)

Everyone seems to forget this article is about Srinivasan, who owns an IPL team becoming BCCI president! I want to see views about that. Ganguly's name was mentioned in the second line of a last para , once!

Posted by Nampally on (September 19, 2011, 14:13 GMT)

Quite honestly how can the present BCCI & the Selectors keep their heads above water after the attrocious team selection for the ODI's & Test Series in England? Kris Sreekanth should resign and let someone like Kumble take the post of the chairman of the selection committee - with people like Gavaskar (West Z), Kapil Dev (North Z), Ganguly (East Z), Srinath (Sout Z). These guys are more in touch with the 3 present formats and are people who command the respect of the nation. BCCI also needs a huge shake up. Getting in all corporate executives & rich guys with no knowledge of cricket is dangerous.Majority of these guys need to be Ex- cricketers with one financial guy.Their job should be to spot talent at all levels, run coaching camps and assist the Selectors with al assistance where needed.This is in addition to managing the budget, funds, etc. The current BCCI is like a "Marwari Katha", just looking after saving money & business bottom line. Cricket itself is suffering badly.Wake Up!

Posted by Romenevans on (September 19, 2011, 14:08 GMT)

<sarcasm> Here we go! Welcome all the Chennai players. Be it school boys, Gully cricketers, street players from Chennai, you all are welcome in Indian team without any performance whatsoever, and the Indian team entrance gates are wide open welcoming you with hugs and kisses. </sarcasm>

Posted by DINESHCC on (September 19, 2011, 13:49 GMT)


Posted by   on (September 19, 2011, 13:27 GMT)

ganguly rocks..he should b made chairman of selection committee..

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Tariq EngineerClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Investec Test: England v India at Southampton - Jul 27-31
England won by 266 runs
Final: Australia A v India A at Darwin
Aug 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:30 GMT | 20:30 EDT | 19:30 CDT | 17:30 PDT)
4th Investec Test: England v India at Manchester
Aug 7-11, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Only Test: Eng Women v India Women at Wormsley
Aug 13-16, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
5th Investec Test: England v India at The Oval
Aug 15-19, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!