India news

Ranji Trophy might be pushed back for World Cup prep

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 26, 2014

Comments: 10 | Text size: A | A

The Karnataka team celebrate their Vijay Hazare title win with colour, Kolkata, March 16, 2014
India's limited-overs domestic competitions might take place ahead of the Ranji Trophy to assist in World Cup preparations © ESPNcricinfo Ltd
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India

Pending the BCCI working committee's approval, India's domestic limited-overs tournaments - Vijay Hazare Trophy and Deodhar Trophy - for the 2014-15 season might be played before the Ranji Trophy to enable players to stake a claim for the World Cup squad. The decision was recommended by the BCCI's technical committee, chaired by former captain Anil Kumble. The teams might also follow the prevalent playing conditions in international cricket, including the field restrictions and a new ball from either end.

Usually the first-class competition kicks off the domestic season and is followed by the limited-overs tournaments. Other changes that were proposed were the deference of the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy and the Corporate Trophy to the next year, owing to a crowded calendar, and amending the existing under-25 age group for the CK Nayudu Trophy to under-23, with only three Ranji cricketers allowed per team.

The tour programme and fixtures committee nailed down the venues for West Indies' tour of India in October 2014. Bengaluru gets its first Test since hosting New Zealand in August 2012. The other two matches will take place in Hyderabad and Ahmedabad.

The one-day leg will be shared among Kolkata, Visakhapatnam, Cuttack, Dharamsala and Kochi, while the lone T20 will be played in Delhi.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (July 28, 2014, 9:35 GMT)

india try to play with top ranked countries like RSA,srilanka, that we will get good preparation for worldcup despite shock of 2007 world cupp...

Posted by espncricinfomobile on (July 28, 2014, 8:23 GMT)

Very right decision by BCCI, special thanks to Anil Kumble..

Posted by JRP100 on (July 26, 2014, 21:44 GMT)

Pointless move, Dhoni and fletcher already have their selected players for the 15 man squad in mind. Rahane can go on averaging 25 in ODIs and still be picked, pujara despite not being capable of playing ODIS against anything higher than Indian domestic bowling will also be in the squad. Other sub par ODI batsmen like tiwary and rayudu will also get a go. India's only consistent ODI batsmen are kohli and Dhoni but without a reliable 3rd seamer india will not make the semi finals of this world cup. One of NZ SA or aus will win.

Posted by espncricinfomobile on (July 26, 2014, 21:21 GMT)

West Indies, again?

Posted by HashNumber1 on (July 26, 2014, 16:40 GMT)

I think it is good decision, Its been good for player like rishi dhawan to perform well and be selected for world cup in aus condition ,

Posted by bala2rahul on (July 26, 2014, 15:05 GMT)

Good to see the noisiest cricket stadium in the world (Kochi) get a game, and isnt it Nagpur's turn to host a test instead of hyderabad ??

Posted by   on (July 26, 2014, 13:30 GMT)

looking forward for the West indies tour

Posted by android_user on (July 26, 2014, 13:19 GMT)

it's been a good decision but even though they must select players accordingly by not depending current Indian Squad n I don't think so thy ll give chance for domestic players like samson, vohra, karn Sharma, rishi dhawan etc even if scored in domestic

Posted by   on (July 26, 2014, 13:09 GMT)

What about preparing pitches similar to Australian condition for onedays?

Posted by venkatesh018 on (July 26, 2014, 12:45 GMT)

The Windies are touring India, Again....really? What is the need to keep flogging them every year on turning pitches? Instead can't we have a well spaced out Ranji Trophy with enough rest in between matches.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd Semi-final: TBA v West Zone at Mumbai
Dec 1, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days