December 27, 2000

Skipper Kumar leads from the front as Bihar settle for draw

Unbeaten centuries by Skipper N Kumar and DK Singh on the final day saw Bihar force a draw against Orissa in their East Zone Under-22 match at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Wednesday. Bihar got five points while Orissa had to be content with three.

Opting to bat first, Bihar put up 285 on the board with N Kumar leading from the front with a fine 63. Kumar shared a 83-run fifth wicket stand with DK Singh (52). Then with the help of the tailenders, K Abhimanyu (50 not out) took the score past the 250 run mark. Saurav Sahgal (4 for 61) and Barman (3 for 39) were the pick of the Orissa bowlers.

In response, the Orissa batsmen struggled to face up to the Bihar attack and were shot out for 150. RR Das (100) was the topscorer in an innings which saw only one other batsman getting into the double figures. During a 183-minute stay at the crease, Das faced 157 balls while finding the boundary ropes eight times.

Bihar in their second innings were cruising along and reached 183 for six when N Kumar and DK Singh took firm control of proceedings. The duo put on an unbeaten 203-run partnership in 44.4 overs. They batted for nearly three hours before the stumps were drawn on the final day. Kumar remained unbeaten with 100 (151 balls, 10 fours) while Singh was on 102 (134 balls, 15 fours).