November 7, 2001

Evan Marshall back after five years off

The return of Evan Marshall and the selection of the promising Jordan Sheed are two of the features of the State Otago Volts team named for next weekend's State Max tournament at the North Harbour Stadium.

Marshall retired (prematurely) from the game five years ago but after a solid winter's training and tutelage from Otago coach Glenn Turner is said to be raring to go.

Sheed is an aggressive right-handed batsman who is pushing for a place at a higher level. He is in his first year out of high school.

The team is: Chris Gaffaney (captain), Andrew Hore, Craig Cumming, Jordan Sheed, Craig Pryor, Scott Waide, Simon Beare, Evan Marshall, James McMillan, Kerry Walmsley, David Sewell and Martyn Croy.

Unavailable because of injury were Brendan McCullum and Warren McSkimming.