New Zealand news July 27, 2015

Satterthwaite, Tahuhu gain NZ contracts

ESPNcricinfo staff

Amy Satterthwaite is part of the 10-player contract list for 2015-16 © ICC

Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu, Erin Bermingham and Anna Peterson have all been added to the list of centrally-contracted New Zealand women's cricketers for 2015-16. Gone from last year's 10-player squad are Sophie Curtis, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen and Felicity Leydon-Davis.

This is the second year in which a group of 10 women's cricketers have been retained on annual contracts under the terms of a Memorandum of Understanding between New Zealand Cricket and the New Zealand Cricket Players' Association. Coach Haidee Tiffen said the list reflected the likely core of the team for the next 12 months.

"These players have all shown they have what it takes it to perform at the top level and we expect them to make a significant contribution over the next 12 months," Tiffen said. "The likes of Suzie, Sophie and Rachel have continued to lead the way for us and will remain key figures going forward.

"Amy and Lea have forced their way back into the side over the last 12 months and been really impressive for us. Anna has been in and out of the side in recent years, but is an exciting batsman and fielder, and took some big strides forward in the recent tour of India.

"The team's recent performances have been encouraging and it's important that we continue to build on that - we think these are the right group of players to help us do that."

New Zealand will host Australia and Sri Lanka in the ICC Women's Championship this summer, before competing in the World Twenty20 in India next March.