MCC v Europe, June 7 May 29, 2007

Free entry for Europe's match at Lord's

Cricinfo staff

Europe will come to Lord's on 7 June, when MCC will entertain a European XI for the first time. Trent Johnston, Ireland's captain, will lead Europe, taking over from Scotland's Ryan Watson - and he will link up again with the former Ireland coach Adrien Birrell who stepped down after the World Cup.

The match will be a return fixture after last year's successful experiment in Rotterdam, a five-wicket win for MCC. Admission is free.

Although most county-contracted players will again be unavailable, Europe's side includes four of Ireland's World Cup players. There are five Scotland players in the team, and one each from Denmark and The Netherlands.

The batting again looks strong, with openers Jeremy Bray (Ireland), Bas Zuiderent (Netherlands) and Freddie Klokker (Denmark) backed up by Watson and Ireland's Kevin O'Brien. Bray's century against Zimbabwe in Ireland's opening World Cup game got their tournament off to a great start, and he was again in fine form against Canada, with 146 from just 152 balls.

With Wright, Colin Smith and Johnston in the middle order the side bats in depth. Johnston has a choice of keepers, too, in Smith and Klokker.

Johnston himself will take the new ball, with John Blain, whose 3 for 24 was key in Scotland's Friends Provident Trophy win against Lancashire last week. Seamers Wright and O'Brien provide support, with spin from Ireland's off-spinner Kyle McCallan and Scotland's slow left-armer Glenn Rogers.

Twelfth man will be Guernsey's Kris Moherndl, who has been given the opportunity as part of a new initiative this year to offer the experience to one of Europe's rising talents that impressed the selectors during the recent ICC European Cricket Academy in La Manga, Spain.

Squad Trent Johnston (Ireland, captain), John Blain (Scotland), Jeremy Bray (Ireland), Freddie Klokker (Denmark), Kyle McCallan, Kevin O'Brien (both Ireland), Glenn Rogers, Colin Smith, Ryan Watson, Craig Wright (all Scotland), Bas Zuiderent (Netherlands).

12th man - Kris Moherndl (Guernsey).