July 26, 2002

Previous New Zealand - Pakistan Tests at Karachi remembered

Although the New Zealand v Pakistan Test at Karachi was cancelled after a bomb blast it is well worth examining how the two teams had fared in the past at Karachi. The two teams had played 6 tests at Karachi, Pakistan had won three and the remaining three were drawn.

Here is a brief review of the previous tests between the two teams at Karachi:

  1. 1955-56: Pakistan recorded their first Test victory at home by an innings and 1 run. New Zealand was out played for 164 and 124 in the two innings. Off-spinner Zulfiqar Ahmed claimed 11/79 and it was first 10-wicket haul in a match by a Pakistani bowler at home. Pakistan scored 289 (Imtiaz Ahmed 64). Henry Cave was New Zealand's captain.
  2. 1965: Despite skipper John Reid's batting heroics (128 & 76) New Zealand lost by 8 wickets. Pakistan's ace batsman of the era, Saeed Ahmed scored a career best 172 and opening batsman Mohammad Ilyas hammered a gallant 126. Intikhab Alam claimed 7 wickets. Hanif Mohammad led the home team.
  3. 1969: It was 'Little Master' Hanif Mohammad's last test. It was also the first unique instance when three brothers Hanif, Mushtaq and Sadiq participated in the same Test. Pakistan scored 220 & 283 for 8 declared. Left handers Sadiq Mohammad and Younis Ahmed (Saeed Ahmed's brother) both playing their first Test, scored 69 & 62 respectively. Another debutant off-spinner Nazir Junior dismissed 7 Kiwi batsmen for 74 in their first innings (274). Despite gaining first innings lead of 54 runs New Zealand were poorly placed at 112 for 5 in the second when the match ended as a draw. Pervaiz Sajjad bagged all the five wickets that fell.
  4. 1976-77: Majid Khan (112) scored a century before lunch on the first day and became the first batsman to achieve the feat after Sir Don Bradman (1930). Javed Miandad (206) scored the first double century of his career and skipper Mushtaq Mohammad scored 107 in Pakistan's total of 565 for 9 declared. New Zealand made a spirited reply with a score of 486. Wicket keeper Warren Lees notched up a superb 159. Glenn Turner captained the New Zealand team.
  5. 1984-85: JV Coney led the tourists and Zaheer Abbas skippered the home team. John Wright (107) and Saleem Malik (119 not out) scored centuries. Scores: Pakistan 328 & 308-5 dec. New Zealand 426.
  6. 1990: Pakistan won by an innings and 43 runs. The duo of Wasim and Waqar demolished 15 Black Cap batsmen. New Zealand scored 190 and 194-9. Pakistan posted an impressive 403 for 6 due mainly to Shoaib Mohammad's (203).
Summary: 1955-56 to date
Played Won by New Zealand Lost by New Zealand Drawn
6 0 3 3

Highest innings total for New Zealand: 468 (1976-77)
Highest innings total for Pakistan: 565-9 declared (1976-77)
Lowest innings total for New Zealand: 124 (1955-56)
Lowest innings total for Pakistan: 220 (1969)
Highest individual innings for New Zealand: W. Lees 152 (1976-77)
Highest individual innings for Pakistan: Javed Miandad 206 (1976-77)