Railways v Bengal, Ranji Trophy, Group B, Delhi, 3rd day December 8, 2013

Kartik in Mankading controversy again

ESPNcricinfo staff

Railways left-arm spinner Murali Kartik has once again become involved in a Mankading controversy, after he ran out the Bengal batsman Sandipan Das for backing up too far at the non-striker's end before the bowler delivered the ball. The incident took place on the third day of the Ranji Trophy match between Railways and Bengal at the Jamia Millia Cricket Ground in Delhi.

The dismissal occurred in the 80th over with Bengal on 120 for 3 in their first innings. As the players were coming back to dressing room, there was a heated exchange between Kartik and Bengal coach, Ashok Malhotra, who questioned the left-arm spinner's ethics and not adhering to 'spirit of the game'.

Kartik, having already warned Das for leaving his crease too early, removed the bails when the batsman did it again. The umpires called for a replay and Das was given out for 19, sparking ugly scenes.

The Bengal bench was disappointed with the dismissal and Ashok Dinda made his displeasure known to Kartik. Malhotra was also involved in a heated altercation with the bowler, questioning Kartik's sportsmanship.

Kartik had been involved in a Mankading row before, when he dismissed Alex Barrow of Somerset in similar fashion while playing for Surrey in August last year, drawing a chorus of boos from the angry spectators.

Malhotra didn't hide his displeasure while talking to the media at the end of the day's play. "On the one side, you have Courtney Walsh and on the other side you have 'Sir' Murali Kartik," Malhotra said. "He is supposed to be a Test player, county player, a commentator and what not. And this is what you do? I don't see him bowling or batting. Probably he is there for 'Mankading' a 19-year-old youngster. What does that little boy learn about the spirit of the game?

"I can understand you are playing one-day cricket, where a batsman tries to steal a single. This is a day's game and he is just an inch out. I am not talking about rules but about 'spirit of the game'."

Malhotra also said that he was expected an official sanction from match referee B Kalyansundaram. "I haven't but I will and I know that," he said.

When asked about the team's response to Kartik when the sides were walking back to the dressing room, Malhotra smiled and said: "I didn't start it. We were clapping and Kartik said something and I reacted. I am not someone who backs off."

Comments