Mills and Franklin named for South Africa series October 23, 2007

How earns one-day recall

Cricinfo staff

After a nine-month lay-off with a knee injury, Kyle Mills is ready to return to international cricket © Getty Images

Jamie How is likely to become New Zealand's new one-day international opener after being named in the 14-man squad for the ODI series in South Africa. James Franklin has been recalled after missing the ICC World Twenty20, while Kyle Mills has also been included following his lengthy injury lay-off.

New Zealand will be forced to restructure their top order for the three-match series with vacancies left by Craig McMillan's retirement and Stephen Fleming's decision to quit one-day cricket. The side will also be without Peter Fulton, who has a knee injury.

When New Zealand last played ODIs, at the World Cup in the West Indies, Fulton and Fleming finished the tournament opening together. Those roles will now probably be filled by Lou Vincent, who missed the end of the World Cup with a broken wrist, and How, whose six limited-overs appearances all came in 2005-06.

Chris Martin, Nathan McCullum and Bradley Scott were overlooked despite being part of the World Twenty20 squad, with Mills, Franklin and Michael Mason taking their places. Mills was originally set to be back for the Tests against South Africa after missing nine months with a knee injury but a calf problem delayed his comeback.

"We have included Franklin and Mills in the squad, subject to them both completing their respective rehabilitation from recent injuries," the selection manager Richard Hadlee said. "With several weeks remaining before they are due to leave, we are confident they will be returning to full bowling loads and fitness in time to take their places in the squad."

Gareth Hopkins will be part of the limited-overs group, fuelling speculation he could be used as a specialist batsman. The series kicks off with a Twenty20 international in Johannesburg on November 23, followed by the three ODIs in Durban, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town.

Squad Lou Vincent, Jamie How, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Brendon McCullum (wk), Gareth Hopkins, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (capt), Kyle Mills, James Franklin, Shane Bond, Mark Gillespie, Jeetan Patel, Michael Mason.