Sri Lanka news October 19, 2015

Mathews cleans up at SLC Awards


Angelo Mathews had plenty to celebrate after a stellar year in 2014 © SLC

Angelo Mathews' excellent form with the bat and consistent performances with the ball, have earned him four major Sri Lanka Cricket awards, including his second successive Cricketer of the Year prize. He also won the Test batsman trophy, and the ODI batsman and allrounder awards.

Mathews' stretch of good form has extended into 2015, but he received his prizes for last year's work. The period under consideration was January 2014 to December 2014, in which he hit 1160 Test runs at 77.33 and 1244 ODI runs at 62.20. He claimed 18 ODI wickets at 36.16 during this period.

Rangana Herath won the Test bowler prize for a 2014 that brought him 56 wickets at 27.17. Ajantha Mendis was the Best ODI bowler for his 38 wickets at 21.63. Mendis was not picked for Sri Lanka's World Cup squad this year, however, and has since been out with injury ever since. Kusal Perera and Nuwan Kulasekara won the T20 batting and bowling awards respectively. Kusal also won the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award, having recently flourished in ODIs and made a bright start in Tests.

Mathews could not budge Kumar Sangakkara's six-year grip on the People's Choice Award, which was voted through online and text message polling. However, Mathews' award for Test batsman of the year broke Sangakkara's five-year streak for the award. Both Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene were in attendance.

Chamari Atapattu won the batting prize in the women's category, with Inoka Ranaweera and Eshani Lokusuriyage taking the bowling and allrounder awards. The team had recently lost to West Indies in home T20 and ODI series, but had defeated Pakistan in an away ODI series prior to that.

As for the domestic awards, Badureliya Sports Club's Milinda Siriwardana, who recently made his Test debut, won the batting award for the Premier League Tournament, in which he struck 1144 runs at 67.29. Left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara, who took 70 wickets at 16.72 playing for Ports Authority Cricket Club, claimed the Best Bowler award.

Saracens CC's Umesh Karunaratne won the allrounder prize. Pushpakumara also won the prize for List A bowling, with batsman Lahiru Milantha and allrounder Asela Gunaratne also picking up awards for the Premier Limited Over Tournament.

The visiting West Indies team was in attendance, along with support staff. Clive Lloyd, Curtly Ambrose and Richie Richardson all presented awards.

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Cricinfouser on October 21, 2015, 9:42 GMT

    A player who is not in the odi squad( let alone XI) is the Odi bowler of the year.

  •   Cricinfouser on October 21, 2015, 5:10 GMT

    The best batsmen in tests should have been Sanga. He scored 1,438 in an average of 72, where Mathews scored 1,160 at 77 being a lower order batsmen than Sanga with 5 not outs in 20 innings. Mathews is the future of SL. But, the award 2014 is for Sanga.

  • AJ on October 21, 2015, 2:25 GMT

    Does it mean good news for SLC? Angelo is already the captain and we have nobody other than him to deserve " cricketer of the year" award in two years. The players are missing career advise and guidence.

  • Dhammika on October 20, 2015, 23:15 GMT

    Surprisingly Thirimanne and selectors didn't win any award.....what a shame.....

  • Jeewaka on October 20, 2015, 13:33 GMT

    Ple dear selectors don't select Kule for both Test and ODI teams based on T20 award for 2014. We should go with current pace bowlers.

  • Tin on October 20, 2015, 9:43 GMT

    Absurd SLC awards. The period under consideration was January 2014 to December 2014 and the award ceremony placed a year after that. it will be even more absurd when they realize Kumar Sangakkara is the best ODI player of the year for SL in SLC awards in 2016. nearly 1.5 years after his ODI retirement.

  • Charindra on October 20, 2015, 9:32 GMT

    Aravinda De Silva, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Mahela Jayawardena, Sangakkara and now Mathews. The next Sri Lankan great.

  •   Buddhi Dhanushka Kodagoda on October 20, 2015, 9:20 GMT

    Best captain sri lanka ever had after arjuna.

  •   Michel Scorfield on October 20, 2015, 8:41 GMT

    we should thank slc and sponsors for organizing this event ,these awards will encourage local as well as international players to do well. i am happy that anji won the player of the year award . i personally think that it would have been better if mahela had been awarded for his service to cricket in sl

  • Jeewaka on October 20, 2015, 7:37 GMT

    What happened to our world best batsman Lucky Thirimanne ? Was there no award for Most Luckiest player ? I.c if so there won't be no competition.

  • No featured comments at the moment.