Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011-12, 2nd match day

Dinesh Karthik fifty sets up Tamil Nadu win

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 17, 2011

Text size: A | A

Tamil Nadu were off to a convincing start in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011-12, chasing down 189 against Goa at the TI Cycles Ground in Chennai, with five wickets and eight balls to spare. Goa's total was set-up by a knock of 66 off 45 balls by opener Swapnil Asnodkar. Asnodkar batted through to the 17th over with an innings that included seven fours and three sixes, while Abhishek Raut, Saurabh Bandekar and Amit Yadav played the support role with cameos that took Goa to 188 for 7. Part-time legspinner Abhinav Mukund, surprisingly, finished with the best figures for Tamil Nadu, picking up 3 for 22. In reply, the hosts were in trouble at 33 for 2 in the sixth over. Then, Dinesh Karthik smacked 60 off 35 balls and put on a 90-run stand with Arun Karthik in 50 balls to get the chase back on course. Following Dinesh's dismissal, Suresh Kumar sealed the game with 47 off only 17 balls.

The pitches at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai were sluggish during the Champions League T20, resulting in low-scoring thrillers. There was more of the same on Monday, as Karnataka defended 129 against Kerala, in a tight match at Chepauk. None of the Karnataka batsmen really got going, with only four of the ten who had an opportunity to bat managing double-digit scores. Off the four, only Bharat Chipli got past 20, hitting 36 at little over a run-a-ball. Kerala's bowlers shared the wickets around, but Karimuttathu Rakesh was the pick with 3 for 16. Raiphi Gomez and Vasudevan Jagadeesh got the chase off to a solid start with a 75-run partnership, but a spectacular collapse followed, sparked by Kotarangada Appanna - he snagged Gomez with his left-arm spin and caught Jagadeesh off Aniruddha Joshi's bowling. Joshi went on to claim two more wickets and Abhimanyu Mithun polished off the lower order with a five-for as Kerala folded for 126 in the 19th over.

DB Ravi Teja smashed 81 off 55 balls to lead Hyderabad to a 35-run victory against Andhra in Chennai. Ravi Teja added 93 for the third wicket with Arjun Yadav, who scored 40 off 30 balls, and led Hyderabad to 160 for 4 in 20 overs. Andhra struggled in their chase and lost wickets far too frequently to build any sort of momentum. Manoj Sai top scored with 35 and there was little support from anyone else. Pragyan Ojha and Syed Quadri took two wickets apiece to help limit Andhra to 125 for 8.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
Baroda v Punjab at Mumbai (BS) - Mar 27, 2012
Baroda won by 8 runs
Mumbai v Punjab at Mumbai - Mar 26, 2012
Punjab won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Baroda v Delhi at Mumbai - Mar 26, 2012
Baroda won by 7 wickets (with 17 balls remaining)
M. Pradesh v Punjab at Mumbai - Mar 25, 2012
Punjab won by 7 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
Bengal v Baroda at Mumbai - Mar 25, 2012
Baroda won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days