West Indies news February 26, 2014

Roberts, Ambrose, Richardson set for knighthoods

ESPNcricinfo staff

Three former West Indies cricketers - Andy Roberts, Curtly Ambrose and Richie Richardson - and set to be knighted during the opening one-day international between England and West Indies in Antigua.

Although not officially confirmed, it has been reported in the Caribbean media that the trio will receive their honours from Governor General Dame Louise Lake-Tack during the lunch break. Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer and Leader of the Opposition Antigua Labour Party, Gaston Browne are also expected to be attendance.

It will take the number of West Indies cricketers with knighthoods to 11 and four Antiguans following Sir Vivian Richards.

Roberts represented West Indies from 1974 to 1983 and was part of the fearsome attack also comprising Michael Holding, Joel Garner and Colin Croft. He took 202 Test wickets at 25.61 from 47 Tests and 87 and 20.35 in ODIs.

Ambrose, who played from 1988 to 2000, claimed 405 Test wickets at 20.99 from his 98 Tests alongside 225 scalps in ODIs.

Richardson captained West Indies in 24 if his 86 Test, scoring 5949 runs overall including 16 centuries.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Pundit on March 3, 2014, 7:23 GMT

    What a load of pogwash! I don't judge how great these guys were by the knighthoods. In fact they should,have been awarded before they played to take the fire out of them. Sad though what they actual fought against was this any case.

  • Dummy4 on March 2, 2014, 8:26 GMT

    I'm wondering why Clive Lloyd is not knighted as yet.

  • Dummy4 on March 1, 2014, 3:48 GMT

    I am a bit troubled by the fact that NO cricketer from the subcontinent has been knighted....

    Or is it because Ind/Pak are not full members of the Commonwealth, but affiliate members?

  • Dummy4 on March 1, 2014, 1:11 GMT

    I hope the next one to get a Knighthood out of The West Indies is Brain Charles Lara,the best batsman the world as seen in the last 25 years or so.

  • Chandresh on February 28, 2014, 19:59 GMT

    These were great cricketers, and so deserve their place alongside the other cricketing legends. These were individuals who made me watch the great game, and let me tell you that their art transcended nationality. They have been appreciated by true fans of all the cricketing nations. And these were the individuals who made me take up the sport....at a much, much lower level!

    I would like to see Michael Holding and Joel Garner receive the honour - who can forget the sheer beauty of Michael Holding's bowling, and the absolute fear in the batsman.

    As an Indian fan, it matters less to me if some of their greats get a knighthood or not - they are completely revered in their own country....but it would be nice to hear Sir Sunil or Sir Sachin..... mind you, I would call them Sir, anyway.

  • CRIC on February 28, 2014, 9:24 GMT

    Well deserved recognition for three true GREATS.

  • Al on February 27, 2014, 14:02 GMT

    The fearsome pace battery comprising Andy Roberts, Michael Holding, Joel Garner and Colin Croft - was the best pace attack ever. I don't think we are ever going to see any pace attack like that one, with pitches being so batsmen friendly these days.

  • Anne on February 27, 2014, 13:11 GMT

    The Queen is the head of state and decides (she is actually advised on this and doesn't decide herself) who will be knighted. British subjects, commonwealth subjects and British protectorate subjects can all receive knighthoods. These can either be done by the Queen herself or can be done on her behalf in her absence by that particular country's Governor General. Therefore it is possible for Sachin Tendulkar to be knighted, as well as subjects from all the Caribbean islands, which are ALL republics, having gained independence from Britain years ago. All (except Bermuda, Anguilla (a British protectorate)) have their own passports, currency etc but still belong to the Commonwealth, which means anyone from the Commonwealth country can be knighted. It is up to that particular country to put forward an application for a certain person to be knighted to the Queen direct or via the Governor General. Well done to Roberts, Ambrose and Richardson for being awarded their much deserved awards

  • Dummy4 on February 27, 2014, 12:36 GMT

    It is wonderful they deserves too.

  • Dru on February 27, 2014, 9:45 GMT

    Would be good to know the basis as it surely cannot be based on performances alone.

    For those wondering why Sachin is not knighted - I think the head of the state must be the Queen of England.

  • No featured comments at the moment.