ICC Women's World Twenty20 April 1, 2010

Merissa Aguilleira to lead West Indies in World Twenty20

Cricinfo staff

Batsman and wicketkeeper Merissa Aguilleira has been retained as captain of West Indies women for the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean. The hosts have made three changes to the squad that toured England for the inaugural version of the tournament last year. They've included batsman Britney Cooper, fast bowler Shemaine Campbelle and allrounder Tremayne Smartt in the squad of 14.

Abbiegaye Hendricks, Danielle Small and Charlene Taitt will be part of the pre-tournament camp in St Kitts and will be eligible for selection in One-Day Internationals and T20 Internationals against Sri Lanka and Pakistan, played before the World Twenty20 begins on May 5.

West Indies beat World Champions England 2-1 in a Twenty20 series in November last year.

"Our girls have been playing some very good cricket in the last six months. They beat England, the No. 1 team in the world, and I know they will be ready when the first match bowls off," Clyde Butt, the West Indies Cricket Board's chairman of selectors, said. "They will have a camp in St Kitts and matches against Sri Lanka and Pakistan, which will be good preparation. I expect our girls to do very well in this tournament. We have very good all-round team and they are very disciplined. They handle the pressure very well and play together as a unit under Merissa Aguilleira, who has matured as a good leader.

"With Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin at the top of the order, we have two match-winners. They are also capable allrounders and they are growing with every match. I would expect these players to lead with Cordel Jack and Pamela Lavine making good contributions as well. We have a good bowling unit as well led by Anisa Mohammed with Taylor, Shanel Daley and Shakera Selman also able to get crucial wickets."

West Indies women's squad: Merissa Aguilleira (capt), Kirbyina Alexander, Shemaine Campbelle, Britney Cooper, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Cordel Jack, Stacy-Ann King, Pamela Lavine, Anisa Mohammed, Juliana Nero, Shakera Salman, Tremayne Smartt, Stafanie Taylor