Zimbabwe news April 29, 2011

Chingoka re-elected Zimbabwe board chairman

ESPNcricinfo staff

A new Zimbabwe Cricket board has been elected following a special general meeting held in Harare on Friday. The elections were held in accordance with the ZC constitution.

The following were elected to the board by way of ballot: Peter Chingoka, LV Bhila, E Chagadama, E Kandi, F Kapuya, M Kuchocha, WT Manase, A Maposa, B Matemayi, S Matshaka, CG Maunze, J Mbanda and M Mudukuti.

The new board then unanimously re-elected Peter Chingoka as chairman of the board and Wilson T Manase as deputy chairman. Chingoka has been president of Zimbabwe Cricket since 1992, shortly after Zimbabwe got Test status. He became a target of a player strike in 2005, when certain cricketers refused to play till he quit the position.