Dravid gets Cricket for Good award

Rahul Dravid was the first recipient of the ESPNcricinfo Cricket for Good award given at the website's 2014 awards ceremony in Mumbai
ESPNcricinfo staff March 15, 2014

related links
Rahul Dravid accepts the Cricket for Good award at the ESPNcricinfo awards, Mumbai, March 14, 2014
Rahul Dravid with the Cricket for Good award © ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Rahul Dravid was the first recipient of the ESPNcricinfo Cricket for Good award given at the website's 2014 awards ceremony in Mumbai. Dravid was recognised for his work as mentor to India's Olympic and Paralympic prospects through his work with the GoSports Foundation.

"The Cricket for Good Award will be given every year to a cricketer who has made use of his or her stature for a wider cause," ESPNcricinfo editor Sambit Bal said. "Dravid is known to embody qualities that define sportsmanship and has worked diligently with young cricketers."

Dravid said: "I'd like to take this award on behalf of the GoSports Foundation, which works with Olympic and Paralympic athletes between the ages of 13 and 21, to try and help them achieve their Olympic and Paralympic dreams. It's a really good, young organisation and I am doing some great work, so I'd like to accept this on their behalf."

The award was presented by Amey Mujumdar, Renault's Senior Manager - Marketing Communication & Strategy.

. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
Comments have now been closed for this article

About The Awards

The ESPNcricinfo Awards recognise the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the calendar year. They are voted on by an independent jury of former cricketers, commentators, and ESPNcricinfo's senior writers. Previous winners have included Dale Steyn, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

ESPNcricinfo@20 Cricketer of the Generation

A high-powered jury of cricketers, current and past, cricket writers and commentators picks the player of the last 20 years to cap ESPNcricinfo's 20th anniversary celebrations.

Contribution to Cricket award

This award, the winner of which is nominated by Rahul Dravid, recognises significant contributions to cricket in a non-playing role.

Statsguru Awards

Which batsman was the most consistent over the year? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken, or averages, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances. ESPNcricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more.