Pick the debutant who made the greatest impact in 2013 in any of the three international formats. Click on the player's picture to vote for him. Let us know why he's your choice, in the space provided. If your pick matches that of the majority of those who vote in this poll and your comments are persuasive, you could win an invite to the awards night in March.

  • Mohammed Shami (Ind)
    -17 wickets at 26.17 from 4 Tests
    -30 wickets at 30.06 from 20 ODIs
    Leading wicket-taker among international debutants this year. Took a five-for against West Indies in the Kolkata Test.
  • Sohaib Maqsood (Pak)
    -363 runs at 40.33 from 10 ODIs
    Made two consecutive half-centuries in ODIs against South Africa in the UAE earlier this year; chipped in with 42 runs in the 2nd ODI of the away ODI series against South Africa.
  • Kyle Abbott (SA)
    -9 wickets at 19.11 from one Test
    Playing as a replacement for the injured Jacques Kallis, Abbott took 7 for 29 in an innings in a Test against Pakistan in Centurion, the second-best figures on debut by a South Africa bowler.
  • Hamish Rutherford (NZ)
    -558 runs at 34.87 from 10 Tests
    -151 runs at 25.17 from 7 T20Is
    Hit 171 on Test debut against England in Dunedin,. Also has made the most international runs by a player making his international debut in 2013
  • Matt Machan (Sco)
    -289 runs at 36.13 and 7 wickets at 20 from 8 ODIs
    -276 runs at 69 and 3 wickets at 36 from 6 T20Is
    The second-highest run scorer among debutants in international cricket in 2013, and also took 10 wickets. Hit a hundred and took 3 for 31 in an ODI against Kenya
  • Jason Holder (WI)
    -17 wickets at 27.88 from 12 ODIs
    Helped West Indies tie an ODI against Pakistan with a batting cameo, but his major contributions have come with the ball, including 4 for 13 in an ODI against Pakistan. Next to Shami as second-highest debutant ODI wicket-taker this year
  • Zulfiqar Babar (Pak)
    -6 wickets at 44 from 2 Tests
    -8 wickets at 13.50 from 4 T20Is
    The second-oldest Pakistan player to debut in ODIs; took 3 for 23 and stole a last-ball win with the bat in an ODI against West Indies.
  • Bilawal Bhatti (Pak)
    -5 wickets at 42.20 from 1 Test
    Scored a 25-ball 39 batting at No. 8 in an ODI against South Africa in Cape Town. Took 3 for 37 in South Africa's second innings, including the two crucial last wickets.
  • Kusal Perera (SL)
    -333 runs at 23.78 from 19 ODIs
    -301 runs at 33.44 from 9 T20Is
    Second-highest run scorer among debutants in T20Is, and third-highest run scorer across all formats. Hit a fifty in a T20I against NZ, made a 44-ball 64 in another, against Bangladesh.
  • Sikandar Raza (Zim)
    -84 runs from 1 Test at 42
    -179 runs from 8 ODIs at 22.38
    -45 runs from 2 T20Is at 22.50
    Hit a fifty on Test debut against Pakistan. Also scored 82 in an ODI against India.
  • Iain Wardlaw (Sco)
    -15 wickets from 8 ODIs at 27.27
    -9 wickets from 4 T20Is at 16.11
    Has taken 24 international wickets since his debut in 2013, the second-highest after Shami's 32 wickets
  • Bruce Martin (NZ)
    -12 wickets at 53.83 from 5 Tests
    His 4 for 43 against England in Dunedin helped restrict England in their first innings. He took another four-wicket haul against them in Wellington.
  • Ashton Agar (Aus)
    -130 runs at 32.50 from 2 Tests
    Hit 98 on debut, the highest individual Test score by a No. 11 batsman. His 163-run partnership with Phillip Hughes is the highest tenth-wicket partnership in Tests.

About The Awards

The ESPNcricinfo Awards recognise the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the calendar year. They are voted on by an independent jury of former cricketers, commentators, and ESPNcricinfo's senior writers. Previous winners have included Dale Steyn, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

ESPNcricinfo@20 Cricketer of the Generation

A high-powered jury of cricketers, current and past, cricket writers and commentators picks the player of the last 20 years to cap ESPNcricinfo's 20th anniversary celebrations.

Contribution to Cricket award

This award, the winner of which is nominated by Rahul Dravid, recognises significant contributions to cricket in a non-playing role.

Statsguru Awards

Which batsman was the most consistent over the year? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken, or averages, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances. ESPNcricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more.