Du Preez, Ismail seal series for South Africa

South Africa Women 274 for 3 (Du Preez 79*, Kapp 72) beat Sri Lanka Women 207 for 8 (Siriwardene 68, Ismail 3-34)

South Africa Women took an unassailable 2-0 lead courtesy of three top-order half-centuries, as they beat Sri Lanka Women by 67 runs in the second ODI in Potchefstroom.

Sri Lanka elected to field, but early breakthroughs were a difficult commodity as 21-year old Lizelle Lee and Trisha Chetty strung together an opening partnership of 72 runs. Chetty was the more dominant partner and departed first, caught in front by Shashikala Siriwardene. Lee held firm, reaching her third ODI half-century and when she fell in the 29th over, South Africa had already built a strong foundation at 141 for 2. Captain Mignon du Preez, with an unbeaten 79 and allrounder Marizanne Kapp, with 72, constructed an excellent charge, with the final 10 overs yielding 82 runs.

Sri Lanka's chase was hampered early when seamer Shabnim Ismail had the openers bowled inside the first five overs. Siriwardene offered resistance, with good support from No. 6 Chamani Seneviratna. Their 95-run partnership ensured Sri Lanka remained in the hunt, but when Ismail returned and had Siriwardene out for 68 in the 37th over, the chase began to slip away. An equation that read 120 runs off 78, proved enough cushion for offspinner Sunette Loubser to run through the lower order and limit the visitors well below their target.

"The top order did really well to get us to a good position so I'm happy with the first innings," said du Preez. "There were a few extra runs that we didn't need to give away but I'm happy with the way the bowlers recovered. It was definitely a team effort today."

Du Preez wanted to take the momentum from this win into the third and final ODI on Monday and whitewash Sri Lanka. "It would be really good to finish with a three-nil series victory, we look forward to going out there and giving it our all."

SL Women 2nd innings Partnerships

1st21AC JayanganiBYA Mendis
2nd1SS WeerakkodyBYA Mendis
3rd31HASD SiriwardeneSS Weerakkody
4th0HASD SiriwardeneHML Madushani
4th95CR SeneviratnaHASD Siriwardene
5th10CR SeneviratnaMADD Surangika
6th17MADD SurangikaHAM Samuddika
7th18MADD SurangikaSDNS Karunaratne
8th0MADD SurangikaKDU Prabodhani
9th14MADD SurangikaHHC Gunaratne