2nd T20I, Auckland, Dec 26 2006, Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand
(18.3/20 ov, target 116)
New Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
New Zealand
Sri Lanka Innings (20 overs maximum)
WU Tharanga  b Franklin031000.00
CK Kapugedera c Franklin b Mason12121811100.00
DPMD Jayawardene (c)c Patel b Franklin971310128.57
KC Sangakkara c †McGlashan b Adams1317232076.47
MS Atapattu c Fulton b Franklin58110062.50
TM Dilshan run out (Fulton/†McGlashan)310150030.00
LPC Silva c †McGlashan b Adams1219230063.15
HMCM Bandara c Taylor b Gillespie1240050.00
SL Malinga  b Patel27192522142.10
CRD Fernando c Adams b Astle21141440150.00
PDRL Perera not out00100-
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 9)12
TOTAL(18.2 Ov, RR: 6.27)115
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Upul Tharanga, 0.3 ov), 2-24 (Mahela Jayawardene, 2.5 ov), 3-26 (Chamara Kapugedera, 3.4 ov), 4-44 (Marvan Atapattu, 6.6 ov), 5-51 (Kumar Sangakkara, 8.2 ov), 6-58 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 10.3 ov), 7-61 (Malinga Bandara, 11.4 ov), 8-71 (Chamara Silva, 14.1 ov), 9-115 (Dilhara Fernando, 17.6 ov), 10-115 (Lasith Malinga, 18.2 ov)
JEC Franklin402335.75121101
MJ Mason301916.33123030
MR Gillespie3.101314.10120010
AR Adams402025.00143010
NJ Astle2.5030110.5842200
JS Patel1.20816.0041000
New Zealand Innings (target: 116 runs from 20 overs)
BB McCullum run out (Kapugedera/†Sangakkara)28284060100.00
SP Fleming (c)c Kapugedera b Fernando17162740106.25
LRPL Taylor run out (Bandara/Dilshan)4790057.14
NJ Astle not out40374241108.10
PG Fulton  b Fernando14131311107.69
PD McGlashan c Dilshan b Fernando2460050.00
JEC Franklin not out36190050.00
Extras(b 4, lb 1, w 3)8
TOTAL(18.3 Ov, RR: 6.27)116/5
Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Stephen Fleming, 5.5 ov), 2-56 (Ross Taylor, 8.2 ov), 3-57 (Brendon McCullum, 8.6 ov), 4-82 (Peter Fulton, 12.6 ov), 5-86 (Peter McGlashan, 14.4 ov)
SL Malinga301505.00143010
PDRL Perera4049012.2578120
CRD Fernando401934.75162100
TM Dilshan3.30802.28140000
HMCM Bandara402005.00112000
Eden Park, Auckland
TossNew Zealand , elected to field first
SeriesSri Lanka tour of New Zealand
Player Of The Match
James Franklin
Series result2-match series drawn 1-1
Match numberT20I no. 12
Hours of play (local time)14.00 start, First Session 14.00-15.20 Interval 15.20-15.40, Second Session 15.40-17.00
Match days26 December 2006 (20-over match)
T20I debut
Michael Mason
Malinga Bandara
Billy Bowden
Tony Hill
TV Umpire
Gary Baxter
Reserve Umpire
Barry Frost
Match Referee
Javagal Srinath
Sri Lanka innings
  • Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 35 mins (51 balls), Extras 11
  • Gillespie injured his leg in the run-up to the second delivery of his fourth over, did not bowl the ball, and left the field. JAH Marshall on as substitute fielder - over completed by NJ Astle
  • Sri Lanka: 100 runs in 68 mins (102 balls), Extras 12
New Zealand innings
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 26 mins (37 balls), Extras 8
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 37 balls (BB McCullum 26, SP Fleming 17, Ex 8)
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 72 mins (105 balls), Extras 8
  • Twenty20 International scorer: Binoy George